Malappuram: The 21st Junior State basketball championship gets underway at the Raja's High School courts, Nileshwaram, on Saturday.

Fourteen teams will take part in the boys' section and 13 teams in the girls' section. The tournament is played on a league-cum-knockout basis.

In boys' section, the teams have been divided into four groups and three teams will qualify from Pool `A' and Pool `B' for the knockout quarterfinals and one team each will qualify from Pool `C' and Pool `D'.

In the girls' section, teams are divided into four groups and top two teams from each group will qualify for the quarterfinals. Alappuzha and Thiruvananthapuram are the winner and runner-up in boys' section, while Kottayam is the defending champion and Kannur the runner-up in the girls' section.

The groups:

Boys: Pool `A': Alappuzha, Kottayam, Kannur and Kasargod. Pool `B': Thiruvananthapuram, Thrissur, Kozhikode and Pathanamthitta. Pool C: Ernakulam, Idukki and Wayanad. Pool `D': Malappuram, Palakkad and Kollam

Girls: Pool `A': Kottyam, Thrissur and Wayanad. Pool `B': Kannur, Ernakulam and Idukki. Pool `C': Pathanamthitta, Kozhikode and Thiruvananthapuram. Pool `D': Kollam, Alappuzha, Kasargod and Palakkad.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper