Tirunelveli: Karnataka whipped Puducherry 6-0 in a league match of the 16th South Zone youth National football championship, organised by the Tirunelveli District Football Association, at the Anna Stadium, Palayamkottai, on Sunday.

Karnataka shot into the lead in the 11th minute through Prakash, who scored off a crisp pass from Magesh from the right, while Velu scored the second goal off a Shiva Kumar pass in the 31st minute.

Sudan Kumar scored a gem of a goal in the 46th minute after receiving a lob from Shiva in the middle. Nirmal Kumar scored the fourth (66th minute) and the fifth (69th) goals, while Velu completed the tally with a fine header off a Mahesh free kick from near the top of the box.

Nataraj in semifinals

At Madurai, top seed M. Nataraj of Coimbatore entered the men's singles semifinals of the State ranking prize money carrom tournament, organised by the LIC Sports and Recreation Club, on Sunday.

The results: Men's singles (quarterfinals): M. Nataraj (Cbe) bt B. Radhakrishnan (Che) 25-23, 25-0; R. Arockiaraj (Che) bt K. Ramesh Babu (Che) 25-23, 25-0; K. Sahaya Bharathy (Che) bt C. Bharathidasan (Che) 25-14, 18-25, 25-22; S. Ganesan (Cbe) bt A. Mahesh Devaraj (Che) 23-25, 25-9, 25-13.

Big win for St. Peter's

At Dindigul, solid knocks from K. Vinothkumar (85) and M. Sheik Abdullah and a five-wicket haul by medium-pacer R. Sudeesh (five for 13) helped St. Peter's Cricket Club (Kodaikanal) carve out a 265-run victory over Sachin Cricket Club in the DDCA first division league on Sunday.

The scores: First division: St. Peter's CC 311 for nine in 44 overs (K. Vinothkumar 85, M. Sheik Abdullah 83, G. Suresh Daniel four for 63) bt Sachin CC 46 in 18.2 overs (R. Sudeesh five for 13).

Third division: Orange Shirts CC 79 in 22.2 overs lost to God Sons groups CC 82 for three in eight overs.

St. Mary's FC triumphs

St. Mary's Football Club posted a 4-2 victory over PSNA Football Club for the title in the last match of the Dindigul District Football Association four-team Nursery Super League on Sunday.

St. Mary's emerged winner with seven points and lifted the DPM Trophy, while Rock Fort Football Club finished runner-up with four points.

PSNA Club and Sun Sports Club collected three points each.

The results: St. Mary's FC 4 (Kamaraj 2, Jeyaprahash, Ramesh) bt PSNA FC 2 (Viji, Gautham); Sun Sports Club 2 (Jeevanathan, Manikandan) bt Rock Fort FC 1 (Sabarish).

Mixed day for Star FC

At Karaikudi, Star Football Club (Ilayangudi) had a mixed day in the Sivagangai DFA `B' division league at the AUCPE ground on Sunday.

The results: Star FC 2 (Akthar, Basheer) bt Chidambaram Memorial FC (Velangudi) 1 (Sundararaj); Young Men's FC (Kattuthalavasal) 2 (Basilal, Manikandan) bt Star FC 0.

P.R. Thevar MFC enters final

P.R. Thevar MFC and Customs & Central Excise entered the final of the Goa Raja memorial invitation football tournament, conducted by the Southern Railway Institute, in Tiruchi on Sunday.

In the first semifinal, P.R. Thevar MFC defeated Globe FC 3-2. Hari was the first to score for P.R. Thevar in the third minute. But Nishanthan equalised soon. Hari netted again to give his team the lead but Globe's Lankeshwaran brought parity just before the break. Duraisamy struck the winner for P.R. Thevar in the second half.

In another semifinal, Justin netted a brace as Customs & Central Excise blanked OFT SA 3-0. Vinoth Kumar was the other scorer.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper