Special Correspondent

  • Bid to be presented in Kuwait City on April 17
  • It will be a straight contest between New Delhi and Incheon

    NEW DELHI: Olympic medal winners Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore and Leander Paes and the country's lone medallist at the World athletics championships, Anju George, will head the sportspersons' list in the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) delegation that will present New Delhi's bid for the 2014 Asian Games in Kuwait City on April 17.

    In a straight contest, New Delhi will take on the South Korean city of Incheon in its bid to host the Games. The IOA delegation will start leaving for Kuwait from Thursday.

    Total support

    Mr. Rahul Bajaj will head the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) delegation while Delhi Chief Minister Mrs. Sheila Dikshit will also be there to lend support to the city's bid.

    The Union Government has already backed the IOA bid.

    The IOA officials told a press conference here on Wednesday that they were confident of New Delhi winning the bid.

    Both IOA President Suresh Kalmadi and Secretary-General Randhir Singh stressed the importance of the Games coming back to India after a gap of 32 years.

    They also pointed out that Korea had hosted the 2002 edition, in Busan, and thus it was natural only to expect members of the Olympic Council of Asia (OCA) to support India's bid.

    Mr. Kalmadi said that the response from the member countries of the OCA was very encouraging during visits made by various Indian delegations in recent months.

    With New Delhi set to host the 2010 Commonwealth Games, the expenditure for the Asian Games would be minimised and at the same time the city would have gained the expertise needed to host an event of such magnitude, he said.

    Mr. Kalmadi was reluctant to give out all the details of the bid, saying that he wanted to keep a few surprises to be sprung at the time of Delhi's final presentation in Kuwait City.

    The IOA has proposed 39 disciplines for the 2014 Games, but the final say on the matter will be that of the OCA.

    The OCA will have its Executive meeting on April 15 and the Annual General meeting and elections on April 16 before it takes up the Asian Games bids on April 17.

    Naresh, Barik win

    Naresh Yadav and B. Barik of Indian Naval Watermanship Training Centre, Mumbai, won the title in the third Hobie 16 National sailing championship at Rushikonda beach, near Visakhapatnam, on Wednesday.

    Yuvaraj Singh and Neeraj Sharma, also of INWTC, won both the races held on the final day to take the runner-up spot.

    Winners for the last two years, Ram Kumar and T. Siva of Army Yachting Node finished third.

    More In: SPORT | Today's Paper