Chennai: Geethu Anna Jose of Indian Railways will lead India in the FIBA-ASIA women’s championship to be held at JN Indoor Stadium from September 17 to 24.

India is grouped with Korea (defending champion), China, Japan, Chinese Taipei, and Thailand and the top three from the event goes for next year’s World Championship scheduled at the Czech Republic.

Chief coach J.P. Singh exuded confidence that India was bound to perform well. His assessment was based on the preparations made and the hard work put in by the players in the camps at Indore and Bangalore.

The team: Geethu Anna Jose (captain), Shiba Maggon, Anju Lakra, P. Anitha, Prashanti Singh, Kiranjit Kaur, Akanksha Singh, Raspreet Sidhu, Sonika Omlyan, Pratima Singh, Kruthika Lakshman and Harjeet Kaur.

The groupings: Level I: China, Chinese Taipei, India, Japan, Korea, Thailand.

Level II: Kazakhstan, Lebanon, Malaysia, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Uzbekistan.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper