BANGALORE: BWSSB struck once in each half to beat AGORC in the senior division football league championship at the BDFA Stadium here on Tuesday. Rohan opened the account in the fifth minute for BWSSB and later Srikanth netted the second goal in the 56th minute.

In a Super league encounter, SAI and BEL Sports Club split the points with a goalless draw.

State TT team

The State champions Uday S. Athryea and B.M. Ashwini will lead the State men's and women's teams respectively in the 68th Senior National table tennis championship which gets underway at Ajmer on Wednesday.

The teams: Men: Uday S. Athreya (captain), Anirban Tarafdar, C.K. Yateesh, Avinash Amanna and Praveen Joshi. Women: B.M. Ashwini ( captain), R. Madhuri, C. Shubashree and L. Suhani. Coach: Bona Thomas John. Manager: C.S. Suresh.

Balakishen tops

Balakishen claimed the title in the top 10 group in the C.V. Raman Chess Club's monthly tournament which concluded here last Sunday.

Rekha Bhat was adjudged as the best woman player of the tournament.

Other winners: Vetrivel Natarajan (under-14), S. Srikanth (under-12), T.C. Meghana (under-10) and Prabhanjan (under-8).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper