NEW DELHI: The Maharaja Ranjit Singh hockey tournament will be held at the Shivaji Stadium here from March 6 to 14 with Oriental Bank as the title sponsor.

The first two editions of the tournament were sponsored by Indian Airlines, which pulled out of the five-year contract it had signed with the Organising Committee.

Indian Oil, Bharat Petroleum, Punjab and Sind Bank, Indian Airlines, Air-India, Namdhari XI and Punjab National Bank have been directly seeded into the Super League. The Border Security Force (BSF) and Sikh Regimental Centre (SRC), Ramgarh, will play in the lone qualifier.

The eight teams will be divided into two groups of four each with the top two from either pool making it to the semifinals. The winner will be richer by Rs.1 lakh, while the runners-up will take home Rs.50,000. Principal Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper