CHENNAI: I. Shivaram (78, 191b, 6x4), Shravan Krishnan (50 n.o., 95b, 4x4), and R.D. Ashwin Kumar (50 n.o., 43b, 4x4, 2x6) helped City XI secure the first-innings lead against Combined Districts and win the under-19 cricket match for the R.T. Parthasarathy Trophy at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium.

After Shivaram and B. Aparajith had added 81 for the third wicket in 39.1 overs, Shravan and Ashwin raised an unbroken stand of 81 for the eighth wicket in 13.1 overs to ensure City bettered Districts’ 286. M. Mohammed claimed two wickets for Districts.

The scores: Combined Districts 286 lost to City XI 296 for seven in 113.2 overs (I. Shivaram 78, B. Aparajith 33, Shravan Krishnan 50 n.o., R.D. Ashwin Kumar 50 n.o.) by virtue of the first-innings lead.

Good knock by Kousik

J. Kousik made 88, as Districts-II scored 288 in 88.1 overs against City-IV in a TNCA round-robin under-16 cricket match here. Akshay V. Srinivasan (four for 68) and M. Shahrukh Khan (three for 16) led City-IV’s bowling effort.

In another match, Mitchell Anthony Mannays (four for 68) and V. Sivakumar (three for 56) combined to help City-I restrict Districts to 235 for nine in 90 overs.

The scores: Districts-I 235 for nine in 90 overs (S. Harish Babu 28, R. Karthik 45, P. Dhathojwal 40, G.U. Vishnu Prasath 42, Mitchell Anthony Mannays four for 68, V. Siva Kumar three for 56) vs. City-I 21 for no loss in nine overs.

Districts-II 288 in 88.1 overs (R.G. Sri Varadhana 31, J. Prasanna Venkatesh 28, J. Kousik 88, S.I. Vasudevan 47, Akshay V. Srinivasan four for 68, M. Shahrukh Khan three for 16) vs. City-IV 15 for no loss in seven overs.

Thirushkamini dazzles

India cricketer M.D. Thirushkamini smashed a 90-ball 170 with 18 fours and a six to power MOP Vaishnav College to a 289-run win over AM Jain College in a league match of the TNCA women’s inter-collegiate tournament on Friday.

The scores: Queen Mary’s College 41 in 24.5 overs (P. Anusha three for six) lost to Ethiraj College 42 for no loss in eight overs (M.S. Shailaja 27 n.o.).

Women’s Christian College 147 in 28.2 overs (S.S.R. Durgadevi 44, S. Rajalakshmi five for 28, P. Gangadevi three for 21) bt SIET College 101 in 20 overs (S.S.R. Durgadevi three for 18, G. Kavitha four for two).

MOP Vaishnav College 309 for four in 30 overs (M.D. Thirushkamini 170, D. Kavya 60 n.o.) bt AM Jain College 20 in 18 overs (V.S. Vinothini four for seven, S. Aiswarya Priyadarshini three for one).

Sri Kannika Parameswari College 99 in 28 overs (K. Leelavathy four for 22, M. Sridevi three for 10) lost to Quaid-e-Milleth 100 for four in 17.2 overs (M. Sridevi 37 n.o., Devi Priya three for 31).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper