HYDERABAD: A.R. Rao Tennis Academy (Bowenpally) will organise a three-day certification course of the United States Professional Tennis Registry for the first time in Andhra Pradesh from December 5 to 7 on its premises.

The PTR is recognised by the ATP and WTA Tours, the USTA and the International Tennis Federation. Through the PTR, the members will have global job opportunities and is of immense benefit to coaches. They will also have access to the latest coaching equipments.

Above 2000 members from India are certified under this programme.

The certification workshop for the coaching staff will be held under the supervision of Dr. Louie Cap, Director of USPTR and Vignesh Rawal from India.

Those interested may call A.R. Rao on 92463 68494.

Inter-district carrom

Hyderabad District Carrom Association will organise Sub-junior inter-district championship-cum-selection trials at Regional Coaching Centre (Fateh Maidan Indoor Stadium) here on December 4 and 5.

Competitions will be held for boys and girls below 14 years and cadets below 12 years. Entries close by December 3 and should be sent to S. Madan Raj, secretary, HCA. For details, call 94403 07023.

Inter-district judo

Hyderabad District Judo Association will organise the senior inter-district championship for men and women at Government City College (High Court) from November 30 to December 2.

Tennis tournament

Andhra Pradesh State Open tennis tournament will be held at TR Sport Tennis Centre (Bowenpally) from December 6 to 8 for boys and girls in the under-12 and under-14 age-groups.

Entries close by December 4. Call 98857 77459.

Comm. Taxes posts win

Commercial Taxes recorded a four-wicket win over Indian Air Force in the A-Institution (one-day) league cricket championship here on Sunday.

The scores: A-Institution (one-day) league: IAF 185 (Katkade 60) lost to Commercial Taxes 186 for six (P. J. Danikar 56, D. Venkat 73).

ECIL 153 for nine (Anil 46, Wayne four for 26) lost to HMT Bearings 156 for eight (Chetan 49, Vijay four for 39).

HAL 75 lost to Midhani 76 for two.

A-Division (one-day) league: Vijaynagar 141 (Razvi Karrar four for 30) lost to Imperial 143 for three.

PKCC 195 (Mukesh six for 51) bt HGC 128 (Naresh six for 15).

Cheerful Chums 176 for seven (Yaseen 77, Ashok four for 51) bt Walker Town 157 (Khan 41).

Schools league: HPS Ramanthapur 263 for eight (M. Naresh 45, Rajesh 68) bt Reliance 109 (Nafeez 40, M. Naresh three for 41, Kiran Mourya five for 28).

B-Division one-day league: Saint Sai 167 for nine (Sandeep 62, Ankit four for 42) lost to Mahaveer 170 for three (Arun 58, Murali 66 not out).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper