HYDERABAD: EME Centre defeated Shastri Club 4-1 in the SAAP Budweiser Premier League football championship at Gymkhana Grounds here on Wednesday.

Winger Charles put the Armymen ahead in the second minute and within 10 minutes striker Dharani was also on target with a fine effort.

In the second session, Shastri Club reduced the margin when Yousuf converted a penalty in the 38th minute after EME defender Anbu handled the ball. EME increased the lead through Dharani again.

Ganesh completed the tally for EME when he converted a spot kick awarded in the final minutes after Vasu had handled the ball.

Pavan scalps seven

A good spell by E.V. Pavan Kumar (seven for 30) helped Rohit XI record a five-wicket win over Kishore Sons CC in the A-Division (one-day) league cricket tournament here on Wednesday.

The scores:

A-Division (one-day) knock-out tournament: SK Blues 198 for nine (Mirza Mohammed 56, Asif 40) lost to Sagar XI 199 for eight.

APSRTC 177 (Ahmed Khan five for 22, Shakir four for 21) lost to Khursheed Jha 180 for two (Akram Ali 50 not out).

BHEL 141 (Sattar five for 25) bt Young Masters 103 (Bharagav four for 18).

A-Division (two-day) league: Khalsa 171 (Taranjeet Singh 45, S. S. Patwal five for 45) lost to AOC 172 for two (I. S. Jetha 56, Brijesh Nair 56 not out).

A-Division (one-day) league: Cheerful Chums 167 for five (Rajesh 50 not out) lost to Southern Stars 168 for five (Sultan Ahmed 70).

Southend Raymonds 181 (Vinod 52) lost to Green Turf 184 for eight (Md. Mohsin 43, Mirza Mustafa 44 not out).

Central Bank 173 for eight (Ramesh 48) lost to Commerical Taxes 174 for five (Gopi 64 not out).

Pasha Beedies 196 (Sailesh 64, Roop Kishen four for 27) bt Vijaynagar 60 (A. Shailesh five for 15).

Vijay Bharthi 211 (T. Chandra Shekar 42, Madhav 47) bt MP Sporting 64 (T. Chandra Shekar four for two).

Classic 192 (Md Altaf Younus 60) bt Rushi Raj 147 (Malik 60, S. Jaffer Ali five for 51, Ahmed five for 40).

Sagar XI 230 (Mohammed Ali 92, Uday Kumar five for 68) bt Tarakarama 109 (Sohail Quadri six for 24).

Kishore Sons CC 134 (E. V. Pavan Kumar seven for 30) lost to Rohit XI 139 for five (E. V. Pavan Kumar 47).

Azad CC 112 (Abbu five for 15) lost to Apex 114 for four (Mohsin 68).

A-Institutional (one-day) league: CCMB 133 for nine (D. Suryanarayana Murthy five for 19) lost to Canara Bank 134 for six (Durga Prasad four for 35).

B-Division (one-day) league: Safilguda 67 lost to Sai Saints 68 for four.

Noble 228 (Jaweed Quadri 112, Md. Shahed Hussain 57, Praveen four for six) bt Bharatiya 169 (Rafeeq Azhar four for 28).

Hyderabad excels

Hyderabad won three gold, three silver and seven bronze medals in the 25th AP State sub-junior inter-district taekwondo championship held in Kakinada recently.

The medallists:

Gold: Boys: S. Rakesh Sagar (lt. middle), Siddharth Singh (welter); Girls: Megha Singh (welter).

Silver: Boys: S. Raghunath Rao (fly), Shiva Krishna (feather); Girls: Akshanada Singh (light).

Bronze: Rohan Singh (fin), Dushwant Singh (light), J. Rohit (middle), Vishal Singh (lt heavy); Girls: Sakshi Singh (bantam), Neha Singh (lt. middle), N. Manisha Singh (lt. heavy).

Chess tournament

Andhra Pradesh Chess Association will organise the 31st Brilliant Trophy tournament from December 12 to 14 at Brilliant Gramar School here. Contact: 9849078112 or 9247399717.

IA & AD volleyball

The Principal Accountant General (Civil Audit), Andhra Pradesh, will organise the IA & AD South Zone volleyball tournament at AG Office floodlit courts from December 11 to 12.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper