Sports Reporter

Chennai: Synonymous with agro and speed, Yamaha Motors conducted the second R-15 racing championship at the Madras Motor Racing Track here on Sunday. The event was organised, in part, to give the casual motorcyclist a taste of what it’s like to ride a bike on the race track under organised racing conditions.

Riding the 150 cc R-15 bikes, participants were segregated into two groups based on their riding skills with Category ‘B’ flaunting high-skill riders while Category ‘C’ comprising the fledglings.

Sameer Venugopalan of Karnataka won the Category ‘B’, followed closely by Vivek Pillai and Rajkumar, both of Tamil Nadu.

In Category ‘C’, Nitin Makkar of Karnataka led from the front to clinch the race. C. Rahul of Andhra Pradesh and M. S. Sudhir of Kerala finished second and third respectively.

“We are pleased with the positive response of our consumers for the new YZF–R15. Racing is in our DNA and by promoting such activities we want to encourage a safe racing culture in India,” said Sanjay Tripathi, Division Head of Product Planning and Strategy.

The final race of the championship will be held in December with a winner’s check for Rs. one lakh at stake.

The results: Category ‘B’: 1. Sameer Venugopalan, 2. Vivek Pillai, 3. Rajkumar; Category ‘C’: 1. Nitin Makkar, 2. C. Rahul, 3. M.S. Sudhir.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper