Srikkanth is chairman of senior selection committee

print   ·   T  T  
NEW TEAM: Newly-elected BCCI Secretary N. Srinivasan, and President, Shashank Manohar (right) at a press conference after the AGM at BCCI headquarters.
NEW TEAM: Newly-elected BCCI Secretary N. Srinivasan, and President, Shashank Manohar (right) at a press conference after the AGM at BCCI headquarters.

Special Correspondent


Rs. 37,000 per day for cricketers who played in the Ranji Trophy in the 2007-08 season.

Sports Medicine Centre to be set up for cricketers as well as sportspersons from other disciplines.

Umpires Amish Saheba and Suresh Shastri nominated on the ICC international panel and Shavir Tarapore to replace G.A. Pratap Kumar as the third umpire.

New affiliations: Meghalaya, Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh as affiliate members Chhattisgarh, Bihar Cricket Association, Patna as associate members.

TV Subsidy: Close to Rs. 14 crore for non-staging associations. Associations that staged Test and one-day international: Rs. 18.6 crore: Associations that hosted a Test: around Rs. 16 cro

Mumbai: Free of legal wrangles and elections, the proceedings at the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s 79th Annual General body Meeting (AGM) at the Cricket Centre raced to a finish in quick time.

The notable event in the course of the one-and-half hour meeting was the appointment of former India captain Krishnamachari Srikkanth as chairman of the senior selection committee for a year along with Yashpal Sharma, Narendra Hirwani, Surendra Bhave and Raja Venkatraman (Venkat).

“A selector can be member of the selection committee for four years, but its always been the case of they being appointed for one year at every AGM,” said N. Srinivasan, addressing his first press conference after being elected as Hon. Secretary, for three years.

Mumbai’s Abey Kuruvilla was appointed Chairman of the Junior selection committee. His colleagues in the committee are Sanjeev Sharma (North), Rajinder Singh Hans (Central), Sanjay Desai (South) and Rajesh Borah (East).

Former India women’s team captain Sandhya Agarwal was appointed Chairman of the Women’s selection committee. Others in the panel are Reshma Gandhi (North), Poornima Rao (South), Mithu Mukherjee (east) and Vrinda Bhagat (West).

The standing and other committees of the BCCI were also unanimously passed. When asked about the position of the BCCI with regard to the recovery of the Rs. 47.38 crore, from Jagmohan Dalmiya in connection with the PILCOM/INDCOM account, Mr. Manohar said: “We have filed a suit which is pending in court. It was filed on 22nd September, 2008. The accounts have been adopted unanimously. It’s a legal issue which will be decided in court. Factually I can tell you that the accounts have been adopted unanimously. You can derive your own conclusions.”

Those who attended the AGM said that Mr. Dalmiya did not utter a word when the annual report and accounts was taken for adoption.

Mr. Manohar also clarified that the minutes of the Working Committee states that cricketers who have played their last match for India ten years ago are eligible to be considered for the selection committee. “The word is not retired, but played. We go by our resolution and it states “who have last played international cricket 10 years back”. There is a distinction between “retired” and “last played,” Mr. Manohar explained.

The BCCI also amended rules and Regulations applicable to players, umpires and administrators. “When rules and regulations were framed Twenty20 cricket was not in existence. The rules did not take into its ambit Twenty20 cricket. The particular clause was amended to extend the rules to Twenty20 cricket.

There was a provision which said “if a person has direct or indirect interest in any of the tournaments conducted by the board, it would be a misconduct.”

Now the IPL is a tournament conducted by the board. We have amended suitably in order to explain that this clause will not apply to IPL and Champions T20 league,” explained Mr. Manohar.

Asked about the meeting between ICC President David Morgan and ICL’s Subhash Chandra, Mr. Manohar said: “The lawyers for ICC, Bird and Bird have asked Mr David Morgan to meet Subhash Chandra, so that his viewpoint can be put forth at the ICC meeting. There is nothing wrong in Morgan meeting Subhash Chandra.”

BCCI Principal officer-bearers and Vice-Presidents (2008-11): President: Shashank Manohar, Hon. Secretary: N. Srinivasan, Hon. Jt. Secretary: Sanjay Jagdale, Hon. Treasurer: Mohinder Pandove; Vice-Presidents: Arun Jaitley (North), N. Shivlal Yadav (South), Arindam Ganguly (East), Chirayu Amin (West), Lalit Modi (Central).

All India Senior selection committee: K. Srikkanth (Chairman), Yashpal Sharma, Narendra Hirwani, Surendra Bhave and Raja Venkatraman; N. Srinivasan (Convenor); All India junior selection committee: Abey Kuruvilla (Chairman), Sanjeev Sharma, Sanjay Desai, Rajinder Singh Hans, Rajesh Borah, Sanjay Jagdale (Convenor).

Technical Committee: Sunil Gavaskar, Chetan Chauhan, Dr. M. V. Sridhar, Biman Bhattacharjee, Milind Rege, Gyanendra Pandey, K. Srikkanth, V. K. Ramaswamy; Tour, Programme & Fixture Committee: Lalit Modi (Chairman), Aslam Goni, Dr. N. Ganga Raju, Amitabh Choudhary, Dr. P.V. Shetty, Prem Dhar Pathak.

Umpires Sub-Committee: Arun Jaitley (Chairman), Anirudh Choudhary, T. C Mathew, Bikash Baruah, Samarjeet Gaekwad, M. N. Dorairajan, S. Venkataraghavan, Sanjay Jagdale.

National Cricket Academy Board: Ravi Shastri (Chairman), Ajay Shirke (Vice Chairman), Dav Whatmore, Rakesh Parikh, Prashant Vaidya, Chetan Desai, Sunil Dev, Sibaprasad Tripathy and all office bearers of BCCI.

Marketing Committee: Sharad Pawar (Chairman), Lalit Modi, Dr. Farooq Abdullah, Goutam Roy, Niranjan Shah, Ranjib Biswal, Chirayu Amin, V. Chamundeswaranath, Anirudh Choudhary, Rajeev Shukla, Dr. Vijay Mallya, Sanjay Patel, Anurag Thakur and all office bearers of BCCI.

IPL Governing Council: Lalit Modi (Chairman), Niranjan Shah (Vice Chairman), Chirayu Amin, Dr. Farooq Abdulla, Rajeev Shukla, I. S. Bindra, Arun Jaitley, Sunil Gavaskar, Ravi Shastri, M. A. K. Pataudi and all office bearers of BCCI.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Hull relegated

Hull City was relegated from the Premier League on Sunday after drawing 0-0 at home to Manchester United in its final match of the season... »