BANGALORE: BEML dazzled in the second half to outplay HAL and inflict a crushing 4-2 defeat in the semifinals of the Puttaiah Memorial Cup football tournament.

The aircraftmen easily the better side in the first half did come by a couple of sharp chances before Bimal Minz caught the entire BEML defence napping with a sharp volley from 30 yards out following a Ricky Joy throw-in that was cleared by Don Bosco.

The goal was the ideal tonic for the Earth Movers.

A penalty goal by Alesh Shamaki almost immediately put BEML on level terms at the halfway stage, though HAL was lucky not to be in deficit.

A R.C. Prakash shot that rebounded off the Aircraft custodian Amar Deb was promptly despatched into the net by Don Bosco but he was pulled up for off-side.

With the officiating getting murkier and steady drizzle continuing to hamper smooth progress, BEML that seized the initiative.

Abdullah Hamza was at hand to boot home a superb Tikken Singh cross from the left in the 65th minute.

The combination worked to a nicety again six minutes later with Hamza deflecting home into the far corner a Tikken Singh centre, this time from the right.

With the HAL defence sagging at the flanks Tikken Singh capped a good match with a crisp left footer from well outside the box that hit the inside of the cross piece and entered the net.

Xavier Vijaykumar did pull one back towards the end, but on this day HAL was well and truly beaten.

BEML will take on MEG, another team to have beaten HAL in this tournament earlier on, in the final slated for 3 p.m on Sunday.

Inter-collegiate tournament

Former champions Al Ameen and Surana College are missing from the list of teams in the fray as the sixth edition of the inter-collegiate football tournament conducted by Rotary Bangalore, Indiranagar gets underway here on Monday. The final is slated for November 20. The tournament this year has attracted 28 teams.

“This is a good response from the colleges and with the inclusion of the tournament in the KSFA calendar the signals are encouraging,” said Harish Kumar Anand, Director, Youth Services, Rotary Bangalore, Indiranagar.

The teams have been divided into eight clusters. The league toppers from each cluster will play the quarterfinals.

The groupings: Cluster I: ASC Centre, Krupanidhi, MES. Cluster II: RBANMS PU, Vivekananda Inst. Of Tech., Baldwin Methodist ‘A’, St. Joseph’s Composite. Cluster III: JKV PU, Seshadripuram PU, Christ Univ ‘A’. Cluster IV: St. Joseph’s Comm, United Mission, Baldwin Methodist ‘B’, Ambedkar IT. Cluster V: Sri Kumaran’s PU, KVS Jr, KLE PU, New Horizon. Cluster VI: SBM Jain, Oxford Dental, Bangalore Inst. Of Tech. Cluster VII: IISc, Vijaya Vittala Inst. of Tech, Cathedral. Cluster VIII: RBANMS First Grade, Christ Univ. ‘B’, Acharya Inst. and Mahaveer Jain PU.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper