Adhiban punishes a reckless Kore for title

print   ·   T  T  
VICTOR AND THE VANQUISHED: B. Adhiban (holding the trophy) got the better of A. Kore for the title. Here he is seen with Parimarjan Negi, the second-placed player.
VICTOR AND THE VANQUISHED: B. Adhiban (holding the trophy) got the better of A. Kore for the title. Here he is seen with Parimarjan Negi, the second-placed player.

Rakesh Rao

Becomes the youngest winner of the championship

ZAMBAULIM (Goa): Desperate situation demands desperate measures but in chess, as in life, thoughtlessness seldom leads to the desired result.

Several seasoned names learnt this lesson the hard way after their aggression misfired and allowed 11 composed campaigners attain their goals in the Monginis 46th National ‘B’ chess championship, here on Thursday.

In the much-watched title-clash, B. Adhiban was the beneficiary of Akshayraj Kore’s rash-play and needed just 22 moves to become the youngest winner of the coveted title.

His tally of 11 points equalled the highest winning aggregate that stands in the name of K. Sasikiran since 1997.

Also, for the first time, two sub-juniors, 16-year-old Adhiban and 15-year-old Parimarjan Negi, occupied the top two places of what is considered the toughest domestic chess tournament played on Swiss League.

Adhiban received Rs. 50,000, while Negi collected Rs. 25,000.

Negi topped a four-way tie for the second spot at 10 points after Saptarshi Roy committed hara-kiri in just 26 moves.

M.S. Thejkumar, P. Konguvel and Deepan Chakkravarthy finished in that order behind the top-seeded Grandmaster.

There were 11 players who finished at 9.5 points but based on progressive scores only Kore, Pravin Thipsay, Sriram Jha, M. Shyam Sundar, S. Satyapragyan and Neelotpal Das made the 11-player qualifying list for the next National ‘A’ championship.

Unbeaten record

Thipsay, returning to the championship for the first time since 1996, qualified with an unbeaten record following a quick draw with Asian junior champion P. Karthikeyan.

The risk taken by Karthikeyan of opting for a draw instead of playing for a win backfired as he was placed 12th.

Shyam Sundar, a member of the victorious Indian team in the recent World youth Olympiad, is a first-time qualifier for the National championship.

All four GMs in the field were among the qualifiers.

The 11 qualifiers will be joined by defending champion Surya Shekhar Ganguly and Kerala’s duo of K. Ratnakaran and G.N. Gopal in the National ‘A’ championship to be held in December.

Those who missed the bus on tie-break were P. Karthikeyan, B.S. Shivananda, S. Meenakshi, M.R. Venkatesh and S.P. Sethuraman.

Nikhil misses the bus

Sadly, 16-year-old M. Shyam Nikhil, who won the first seven rounds, could finish with nine points only and missed qualification.

On a day when desperate aspirants forgot all about draw-offers and risked defeats for a place among the 11 qualifiers for the next National ‘A’ and went for broke, International Masters Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury, Saptarshi Roy, N. Sudhakar Babu and Anup Deshmukh paid the price for letting their hearts rule their minds.

Subject to the approval of FIDE, the game’s governing body, M.R. Lalith Babu, E.P. Nirmal, M. Mehar Chinna Reddy, Prasanna Rao, Nikhil and Shivananda were given International Master-norm certificates.

The results:

13th round: Akshayraj Kore (9.5) lost to B. Adhiban (11); Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury (9) lost to Parimarjan Negi (10); Deepan Chakkravarthy (10) bt Saptarshi Roy (9); Pravin Thipsay (9.5) drew with P. Karthikeyan (9.5); M.S. Thejkumar (10) bt Prathamesh Mokal (9); Sriram Jha (9.5) drew with S. Meenakshi (9.5); Anup Deshmukh (9) lost to P. Konguvel (10); S. Satyapragyan (9.5) drew with M. Shyam Sundar (9.5).

Neelotpal Das (10) bt N. Sudhakar Babu (9); Dinesh Sharma (8.5) lost to M.R. Venkatesh (9.5); S.P. Sethuraman (9.5) bt M.R. Lalith Babu (8.5); B.S. Shivananda (9.5) bt B.T. Murali Krishna (8.5); J. Ramakrishna (9) drew with G.B. Prakash (9); Himanshu Sharma (8.5) drew with Joydeep Dutta (8.5); G.A. Stany (8) lost to R.R. Laxman (9); Nassir Wajih (9) bt Aswin Jayaram (8); R. Premnath (9) bt Swapnil Dhopade (8); Suvrajit Saha (8.5) drew with Abhishek Das (8.5); Sekhar Sahu (8) lost to Shyam Nikhil (9); Rishipal Singh (8.5) drew with Vidit Gujarati (8.5); P. Maheswaran (8.5) drew with N. Sanjay (8.5); Vishnu Prasanna (9) bt V.A.V. Rajesh (8).

Akshat Khamparia (8.5) drew with Vikramjit Singh (8.5); C. Praveen Kumar (9) bt Arvinderpreet Singh (8); Manoj Panigrahi (8) lost to D.P. Singh (9); Rahul Shetty (9) bt Malleswara Rao (8).

Final standings: 1. Adhiban (11 points), 2-5. Negi, Thejkumar, Konguvel, Deepan (10 each), 6-16. Kore, Thipsay, Jha, Shyam Sundar, Satyapragyan, Neeloptal, Karthikeyan, Shivananda, Meenakshi, Venkatesh, Sethuraman (9 each).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Anand beats Adams, in second spot

Viswanathan Anand crashed through the defences of Michael Adams of England to jump to the second spot in the Shamkir Chess 2015 tournamen... »