CHENNAI: St. Joseph’s Engineering College (Chennai) beat GRD College (Coimbatore) 79-77 to reach the semifinals of the Bertram basketball tournament at Loyola College here on Friday.

The results: Quarterfinals: St. Joseph’s Engineering College (Chennai) bt GRD College (Coimbatore) 79-77; Jappiear Engineering College (Chennai) bt Jamal Md. College (Tiruchi) 57-30.

Pre-quarterfinals: St. Xavier’s College (Palayamkottai) bt Voories College (Vellore) 37-22; Sethu Institute of Technology (Madurai) bt Bishop Heber College (Tiruchi) 55-18; Jamal Md. (Tiruchi) bt M.Ct.M School (Chennai) 34-13; St. Joseph’s Engineering College (Chennai) bt PSG Arts College (Coimbatore) 72- 68.

Big win for Districts II

Districts II beat City IV by nine wickets in the TNCA round-robin (u-16) tournament here on Friday. Districts II was awarded eight points for its win.

The scores:

City II 347 for three in 90 overs drew with Districts I 115 in 76 overs (S. Omesh 45, S. Selva three for 20) and 44 for no loss in 27 overs.

City IV 90 in 56.2 overs and 103 in 44.2 overs (P. Rahul 39, K. Karthik three for eight, Kavin Prasad three for 17) lost to Districts II 146 in 76.3 overs (K. Dheer Bhimani 43, V. Vijay Anand 26, S.Vigneshwaran five for 23) and 48 for one in 6.2 overs (R. Guhan 26 n.o.).

Champions Trophy volleyball

The Champions Trophy volleyball tournament, featuring the top six men’s teams from the senior division A zone league, will be held at the Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium from August 30 to September 5. The event, sponsored by Hindustan University, carries a prize money of Rs. 100,000 for the men’s winner.

Briefing the media on Thursday, M. Tamzih Vendan, IRS, Chairman, Organising Committee and Assistant Commissoner of Customs, announced that the sponsor had donated the Dr. K.C.G. Varghese Memorial Trophy to the presented for both the winners.

While the men’s competition will be on a league basis, the women’s event, involving eight teams, is to be played on league-cum-knock-out basis. The women’s winner will take home a cash prize of Rs. 30,000.

Mr. A.K. Chitrapandian, Secretary, Chennai District Volleyball Association, thanked the sponsor for coming forward to reward the winners with impressive sum of prize money.

Dr. Sarukesi, Vice-Chancellor, Hindustan University, will inaugurate the championship on Saturday.

The teams: Men: Indian Overseas Bank, Southern Railway, Indian Bank, Sathyabhama University, SDAT and ICF. Women: Dr. Sivanthi Club, GKM Club, Hindustan Sports Academy, Panimalar Engineering College, St. Joseph’s College, SDAT, Tamil Nadu Police and JBAS College.

Kannan-Niranjan win

V. Kannan and N. Niranjan (North-South) and D.Vijay and B.V.S. Prajwal (East-West) were the winners in the monthly open bridge competition, conducted by the Madras Gymkhana Club, on Wednesday.

Other results: North-South: 2. P. Narayan Iyer & R.N. Subramanian; 3. Col. George & Wg. Cdr. Laxman; 4. B.M. Saxena & Sudhakar.

East-West: 2. R. Vijayraghavan & V. Ramkumar; 3. K. Rajagopalan & Anand; 4. Jennifer Ann & Maj. C.N. Anand.

SSN triumphs

SSN College of Engineering won the Anna University Zone-3 cricket tournament, beating Hindustan College of Engineering by four wickets, in the final on Thursday.

The scores: Final: Hindustan EC 112 in 23.3 overs (Dharminsha four for 23) lost to SSN 115 for six in 23 overs.

Third-place match: Easwari EC 108 for seven in 20 overs (Vigneshraja 44) lost to AC Tech 109 for six in 17.4 overs.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper