Sports Reporter

Coimbatore: Digvijay Singh struck form at the right moment to win his maiden title in the PGTI Players Championship at the par-72 Coimbatore Golf Club course here on Saturday.

A one-over 73 in the final round and an overall tally of five-under 283 saw Digvijay edge out joint leader Rahul Ganapathy (Mysore) in a thrilling finish on the last hole. With this win, Digvijay moved to the top of the PGTI Order of Merit for 2007-08.

All eyes were on Vijay Kumar, Rahul and Digvijay at the start. They battled like never before which saw the lead changing hands a few times.

In fact, Digivjay bogeyed the first, third, fourth and fifth as his putting let him down badly. He made three putts on the third, fourth and fifth and picked up a stroke with a birdie on the ninth to make the turn at a not-so-bright three-over.

Digivjay put aside his poor show at the start and walked the course in style with seven pars and two birdies on the return journey. It was a 15-foot putt for birdie on the 15th and a 20-foot putt for a birdie on the 18th that turned the tide and the title in his favour.

“It was a very satisfying day for me. I have been knocking on the doors of victory for quite some time. I am glad that I have finally posted a win after a gap of two years,” said Digvijay, who also finished runner-up in two PGTI events in the 2007-08 season.

Rahul fired a two-over 74 on the final day to finish runner-up with a total of four-under 284. Shamim Khan was a further three strokes behind in third place.

Chennai’s Darshan Veeraraghavan (77, 82, 84, 77) walked away with the amateur title. Both Veeraraghavan and Coimbatore’s Vignesh Ranga Rao ended up with a final tally of 32-over 320. However, the former clinched the crown on count-back.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper