Special Correspondent

Chennai: UFCC’s S. Sharath and Jolly Rovers’ Petson Matthews notched up hundreds while there were five-wicket hauls for Indian Bank paceman V. Rajnikanth and Globe Trotters left-arm spinner S. Senthil Kumar on the second day of the third round in the TNCA first division league here on Sunday.

Skipper Sharath’s 128 (301b, 17 x 4) enabled UFCC (T. Nagar) reach 271 against Indian Bank at the Vivekananda ground. Left-arm paceman Rajnikanth claimed five for 78. Indian Bank was 106 for one in reply with L. Suryaprakash unbeaten on 57.

At the IIT-Chemplast ground, Petson Matthews (118, 135b, 14 x 4, 1 x 6) became the third Jolly Rovers batsman to score a hundred in the innings. Matthews and D. Giripal added 114 for the ninth wicket as Rovers made a mammoth 522 against Alwarpet. For Alwarpet, off-spinner Huzefa and left-arm spinner R. Raghuram scalped four batsmen each.

Alwarpet replied strongly, progressing to 141 without loss at stumps. M.O. Arjun Sarathy (80 batting, 189b, 13x4) and R. Rohit (54 batting, 161b, 3x4) were together.

Despite Senthil Kumar’s five for 110 and Venugopala Rao’s four for 93 with his off-spin, Aruna posted a healthy 435 against Globe Trotters at the MRF-Pachaiappa’s ground. Jesubabu Honeymen, overnight 104, was eventually dismissed for 143 (363b, 15x4, 1x6, 1x5). P. Satish contributed 57. Although X. Thalaivan Sargunam (61 batting, 119b, 8x4) fought hard, Trotters slumped to 107 for four in reply.

Vijay CC grabbed the first innings lead over Grand Slam, finishing the day at 323 for eight at MAC. Opener Abhinav Mukund (84, 184b, 11x4) and all-rounder N. Einstein (52) were the major scorers.

At the Murugappa ground, Young Stars was in trouble at 108 for five, replying to Parry’s 317. Vikram Mani’s 89 (202b, 15x4) formed a large chunk of his team’s runs. Off-spinner N. Raghavandran claimed three wickets.

Earlier, Parry’s was bowled out for 317. Aravind, overnight 143, remained unbeaten on 186 (365b, 24 x 4, 1 x 6). Paceman S. Senthilnathan and off-spinning all-rounder K. Srinivasan took four wickets each.

India Pistons’ left-arm spinner M. Suresh Babu triggered a collapse with three strikes as Southern Railway Institute, pursuing 208 for the lead, collapsed from 154 for five to 161 all out in 21 balls at the Railway ground. Off-spinner M. Prabhu grabbed four wickets. Pistons was 134 for two in its second innings. V. Arun Kumar made 58 and K.H. Gopinath, 48.

The scores:

At Viveka: UFCC (T. Nagar) 271 in 117 overs (S. Sharath 128, N. Lokesh 45, V. Rajnikanth five for 78) vs Indian Bank 106 for one in 61 overs (L. Suryaprakash 57 batting).

At Murugappa: Parry’s 317 in 125.5 overs (Juzer Abbas 60, Ra. Aravind 186 n.o., S. Senthilnathan four for 59, K. Srinivasan four for 83) vs Young Stars 108 for five in 70 overs (M. Vikram Mani 89).

At Railway: India Pistons 207 & 134 for two in 32 overs (V. Arun Kumar 58, K.H. Gopinath 48) vs S. Railway Institute 161 in 60 overs (M. Lakshminarayanan 42, M. Prabhu four for 60).

At MAC: Grand Slam 256 vs Vijay 323 for eight in 105 overs (Abhinav Mukund 84, N. Einstein 52).

At IIT-Chemplast: Jolly Rovers 522 in 120.5 overs (S. Vidyut 117, M. Vijay 136, Petson Mathews 118, D. Giripal 46, Huzefa Patel four for 145, R. Rahuram four for 118) vs Alwarpet 141 for no loss in 59 overs (M.O. Arjun Sarathy 80 batting, R. Rohit 54 batting).

At MRF-Pach: Aruna 435 in 142.4 overs (Jesubabu Honeymen 143, S. Anirudha 76, P. Satish 57, Y. Venugopala Rao four for 93, S. Senthil Kumar five for 110) vs Globe Trotters 107 for four in 35 overs (X. Thalaivan Sargunam 61 batting).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper