CHENNAI: The top-seeded FIDE Master S. Nitin of Salem had to make 39 watchful moves to overcome Ashwin Balaji in the opening round of the eighth Adyar Times FIDE-rated chess tournament here on Tuesday.

The first round saw almost all the higher-rated players post wins. Second seed C. Praveen Kumar won in 24 moves with the Sicilian defence against J. Ashwin.

Ram sizzles

The most impressive winner on the first day was Ram S. Krishnan (BSNL) who checkmated Atukorale on the 12th move by sacrificing his queen in the Paul Morphy style.

The 2006 winner of the tournament, International Master D.P. Singh of Southern Railway, won in 30 moves with the black pieces using an irregular opening.

Important results (first round): S. Nitin bt Ashwin Balaji; J. Ashwin lost to C. Praveen Kumar; Ram S. Krishnan bt Y. Atukorale; M. Balaprasanth lost to D.P. Singh; R. Ashwath bt R. Bhuwan; Challa Rushi lost to R. Arun Karthik; P. Praveen Prasad bt K. Chidambaram; Clifford Flair lost to P. Maheswaran; Ramnath Bhuvanesh bt Das Gopal; S.S. Das lost to Dusthageer Ibrahim; Pratik Shriwas bt Debarshi Das; Dinesh Kumar lost to K.V. Shantharam; J. Malleswara Rao bt S. Ganesan; Geetha Akil lost to T. Gowtham; T.R. Shanmuganathan bt Gorak Rajesh. — Arvind Aaron

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper