BANGALORE: Ambedkar Basketball Club is the new ‘B’ division state basketball league champion. In a final that saw fortunes fluctuating, Ambedkar BC downed Corps of Military Police (CMP) 65-43 after leading 31-19 at the halfway stage.

Ambedkar was off to a flying start with the tall Adil in fine nick. Leading 16-11 at the end of the first quarter, Ambedkar maintained the tempo for most of the second as well and went into the break with a 31-19 handy lead.

CMP, however, managed to hit back on resumption with Vinay Kumar and Jagdish finding the hoop with greater regularity in the third quarter and even outscored Ambedkar in this period. Coach Sachin Belvadi inspired the team in the fourth to put the issue beyond the Military Police with consummate ease.

Ambedkar BC and CMP both earned a promotion to the ‘A’ division league for the next season while DRDO and SBI were relegated to the lower ‘C’ division.

The results:

Final: Ambedkar BC 65 (Adil 26, Sunil 15) bt CMP 43 (Vinay Kumar 14, Jagdish 13), ht: 31-19.

Raghavendra’s 100 goes in vain

D. Raghavendra’s 100 went in vain as Shimoga lost by eight-wickets to Mangalore in a KSCA inter-zonal under-22 tournament match here recently. Shimoga scored 240 for seven in 50 overs and Mangalore surpassed the score in 48.3 overs.

The scores:

Shimoga 240 for seven in 50 overs (D. Raghavendra 100, N. Ashoka 57, Sachin Bhat four for 63) lost to Mangalore 246 for two in 48.3 overs (Sachin Shenoy 95, Rahul 66 n.o.).

Raichur 222 in 45.4 overs (Raj Kumar 58, Muralikrishna 52, Naresh Reddy 44) bt Tumkur 210 in 48.4 overs (Raghuveer 62, Sarfaraj Ashraff 54, K. Naveen five for 54).

Dharwad 236 in 48.4 overs (Santhosh 63, Zeeshan Sayed 43) bt Mysore 212 in 49.1 overs (Utham Raj 86, Anand Kammar four for 46).

Badminton meet

The Karnataka Badminton Association will conduct the inter-school badminton championship here from August 9 to 12.

Entries close on August 4. For details call: N.C. Sudhir, KBA secretary, 93412 25354.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper