Adam Gilchrist goes on the rampage

print   ·   T  T  
blitzkrieg: Adam Gilchrist gives Dwayne Bravo the treatment during his explosive innings on Sunday.
blitzkrieg: Adam Gilchrist gives Dwayne Bravo the treatment during his explosive innings on Sunday.

Nandakumar Marar

Deccan Chargers posts first win as Mumbai Indians wilts under the quickest century

MUMBAI: Adam Gilchrist exploded against Mumbai Indians, forcing skipper Shaun Pollock at the receiving end of the blast to smile at the hapless situation.

Such was the savagery (109 not out, 48 balls) of the Australian opener’s strokeplay that the dazed bowlers in blue appeared like sending down deliveries into a batting machine.

Batting in a zone of his own, the left-hander swatted an incredible 10 sixes and nine boundaries in the course of the fastest century in the IPL. Hyderabad’s Deccan Chargers vaulted to a 10-wicket victory in the DLF Indian Premier League match, its first after three defeats in a row.

V.V.S. Laxman (36 not out), watching the awesome fireworks show from the other end, rotated the strike.

Gilchrist’s knock meant that teammate Andrew Symonds, waiting for his turn to bat, did not get an opportunity to entertain fans in his last match in this event. The latter will fly out to join the Australian team.

Mini recovery

Mumbai Indians had earlier staged a mini recovery, aided by a courageous Abhishek Nayar and an enterprising Dwayne Bravo to compile 154-7 in the allotted 20 overs in the first IPL match at the magnificent D.Y. Patil stadium.

Gilchrist singled out Aashish Nehra for special attention, smashing three fours in one over.

Sanath Jayasuriya came on after Pollock realised the need to break the rhythm. Deccan Chargers raced to 50 in 31 balls and the 100 was registered even faster (51 balls).

When Mumbai Indians batted, Nayar, sent out at number six behind experienced, established strokeplayers, overshadowed the likes of Jayasuriya and Robin Uthappa with a ferocious 19-ball 34. Dwayne Bravo was equally busy scoring 34 (18 balls).

Luke Ronchi, sent to take first strike as opening partner for Sanath Jayasuriya, slashed away from his body at a ball from R.P. Singh, edged to Laxman at slips and failed for the fourth time in a row.

Mumbai Ranji opener Ajinkya Rahane, anxious to make an impression on debut, pulled a short one from Sanjay Bangar and was caught at the square leg fence.

Jayasuriya took his time to get cracking as only 27 runs came in the first five overs.

Robin Uthappa’s dismissal, falling for the bait offered by Shahid Afridi, thrust captain Shaun Pollock to do fire-fighting even before getting his eye in. Laxman brought in left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha, looking to snare the strokeplayers using the slow bowlers.

Afridi, combative and deceptive, forced Jayasuriya into giving him the charge and Rohit Sharma silenced the home crowd by judging the skier comfortably.

Two misses

Two misses by wicket-keeper Gilchrist saved Mumbai Indians from further setbacks at the halfway mark (55 runs from 10 overs). Nayar walked into a situation suited to his attacking approach.

Laxman’s bowling changes paid off as unsung Sanjay Bangar displayed his utility in this form of cricket, by sticking to accuracy in the face of aggression from Pollock.

The Mumbai skipper of the day missed the line of the delivery to be bowled after a useful 31 off 31 balls.

Nayar launched into the Deccan bowlers, lashing three huge sixes to set the stage for a fightback when Zoysa nailed him with a change of pace.

The scores:

Mumbai Indians: L. Ronchi c Laxman b R.P. Singh 13, S. Jayasuriya c Sharma b Afridi 18, A. Rahane c Ojha b Bangar 0, R. Uthappa c Gilchrist b Afridi 6, S. Pollock b Bangar 31, A. Nayar c Gilchrist b Zoysa 34, D. Bravo c Ojha b R.P. Singh 34, M. Khote (not out) 7; Extras (b-2, lb-3, w-3, nb-2) 10. Total (for seven wickets in 20 overs) 154.

Fall of wickets: 1-15, 2-18, 3-27, 4-55, 5-79, 6-122, 7-154.

Deccan Chargers bowling: R.P. Singh 4-1-15-2, Zoysa 4-0-30-1, Bangar 4-0-34-2, Afridi 4-0-33-2, Ojha 2-0-14-0, Kalyankrishna 2-0-23-0.

Hyderabad Deccan Chargers: A. Gilchrist (not out) 109, V.V.S. Laxman (not out) 36; Extras (b-4, lb-2, w-4) 10. Total (for no loss in 12.4 overs) 155.

Mumbai Indians bowling: Nehra 2-0-19-0, Pollock 2-0-33-0, Kulkarni 1-0-8-0, Jayasuriya 2-0-17-0, Chitnis 2-0-20-0, Bravo 2.4-0-30-0, Nayar 1-0-22-0.

DLF-IPL T20 - Latest Photos

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Fair Play hands West Ham Europa berth

West Ham United has qualified for next season’s Europa League by topping the Premier League’s Fair Play table, the London club announced... »