Special Correspondent

Dibyendu Barua loses in 30 moves

Koneru Humpy manages to win

KOLKATA: International Masters Arun Prasad and Ponnuswamy Konguvel produced stunning results to be among the leaders at the end of the third round of the 10-round Swiss league of the third Kolkata Open chess tournament at the Gorky Sadan here on Wednesday.

Joining the Indian duo at the top were Czech GM Viktor Laznicka, GM Nguyen Anh Dung of Vietnam and untitled M.S. Thejkumar of India, all on three points.

Prasad employed an attacking game against the Benoni defence of Uzbek GM Safin Shukhrat.

Prasad won an exchange and forced the resignation of the Uzbek on the 39th move when he was about to win a piece.

IM Konguvel surprised GM Dibyendu Barua in 30 moves. He too was at his attacking best against the French defence of Barua.

Both preferred to attack on opposite wings but it was Konguvel who was faster and forced the Indian GM to concede defeat.

Fluent victories

GMs Dung and Laznicka came out with fluent victories against two Indian opponents.

Dung’s win came against IM K. Rathnakaran and Laznicka quelled the challenge of IM M.R. Venkatesh. The Czech GM won a pawn on the queenside after employing the Catalan defence. Venkatesh resigned on the 35th move after he lost another pawn.

Marathon game

In other games, GM Koneru Humpy managed to win against IM Akshayraj Kore while local lad Arghyadip Das in a marathon game held GM K. Sasikiran to a draw.

Even second seed GM Smbat Lputian of Armenia was held by GM Tejas Bakre. Another Indian GM Sandipan Chanda got the better of IM Watu Kobese of South Africa in 24 moves by sacrificing a piece to keep his opponent’s king in the center.

Important results (Indians, unless stated otherwise): Smbat Lputian (Arm, 2.5) drew with Tejas Bakre (2.5), Viktor Laznicka (Cze, 3) bt M.R. Venkatesh (2), K. Rathnakaran (2) lost to Nguyen Anh Dung (Vie, 3).

Vladimir Dobrov (Rus, 2.5) drew with R.R. Laxman (2.5), Arun Prasad (3) bt Safin Shukhrat (Uzb, 2), P. Konguvel (3) bt Dibyendu Barua (2), Neelotpal Das (2.5) drew with Rolando Nolte (Phi, 2.5).

M.S. Thejkumar (3) bt Ashwin Jayaram (2), Arghyadip Das (2) drew with K. Sasikiran (2), Akshayraj Kore (1.5) lost to K. Humpy (2.5).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper