CHENNAI: Tiruvallur, thanks to M.K. Sivakumar’s unbeaten 90, entered the final of the S.S. Rajan Trophy cricket tournament with a 28-run over Madurai on Saturday.

Meanwhile at Coimbatore, Namakkal defeated host Coimbatore by two runs in a rain-hit semifinal, which was played over 30-overs-a-side.

The scores: Semifinals:

At Chennai: Tiruvallur 246 for nine in 50 overs (M.K. Sivakumar 90 n.o., J. Prashant 40, Santhosh Gopi four for 40) bt Madurai 218 in 47.5 overs (Noor-ul-Riaz 50, Subramania Siva 51, Tariq 46).

At Coimbatore: Namakkal 137 in 29.4 overs (S.R. Karthikeyan four for 26) bt Coimbatore 135 in 29.5 overs (John Baptist 43).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper