CHENNAI: Holder ICF gained full points from its 1-0 win over TNSP in a CFA senior division league match on Friday at the Nehru stadium. Ashok Kumar scored the all-important goal almost at the stroke of half-time off a pass from Dhadeus.

In a first division match earlier, Don Bosco Annai Youth trounced Rangoon FC 4-0. Sasikumar, Riaz Ahmed, Rajan and Immanuel were the scorers.

Easy for FCI

FCI defeated SBI 6-2 in a CHA senior division league match at the Mayor Radhakrishnan stadium on Friday.

Venkatesan (two), Deepak Kumar (three) and Johnson Edward were the scorers for the winner while Cedric D’Cruz and Dinesh reduced the margin.

Sanmar-TNTA league

The Sanmar Group will be sponsoring the TNTA city club tennis league for the 16th year in succession. The Sanmar-TNTA league will feature 39 teams with 400 players in six zones — A, B, C, D, E and F.

The regular league will commence on February 2, followed by the veterans events in which 11 teams will take part.

The teams will be placed in four groups. Top teams from each group will play the semifinal knockout round.

All leading senior and junior players of the state including Vinod Sridhar, Vijay Kanna, Rushmi Chakravarthy, Sai Jayalakshmi, Kamala Kannan, M. Fariz and V.M. Ranjeet will be seen in action. The total prize money offered is Rs. 2,50,000.

Kicha scalps four

Darshan Kicha’s four wickets for 23 runs helped Chinmaya Vidyalaya defeat La Chataline by eight wickets, in the P.C. Sekhar memorial under-13 cricket tournament, on Thursday. K.S. Sharath scalped three wickets and scored 37 to take Sir Sivaswamy Kalalaya to a six-wicket win over St. John’s SSS.

The scores:

St. John’s SSS Mandaveli 116 for nine in 30 overs (Avinash 47 n.o., K.S. Sharath three for 21) lost to Sir Sivaswamy Kalalaya 117 for four in 23.3 overs (K.S. Sharath 37, H. Subramanian 26)

La Chataline Residential Jr. College 58 in 11.5 overs (Darshan Kicha four for 23, J.L. Jinith three for 11) lost to Chinmaya Vidyalaya Kilpauk 59 for two in 10 overs.

NI ‘A’ scrapes home

National Insurance ‘A’ overcame stiff resistance to beat ITRC 3-2 in a match in the fourth division of the eighth Tribology-CTTF table tennis tournament at the SDAT Chandra Academy.

Other results:

Bharathi ‘B’ bt MMC ‘A’ 3-0; Bharathi ‘B’ bt Lucas TVS 3-1; MMC ‘A’ bt Birla Soft 3-1; IOC bt Bharathi ‘B’ 3-0; National Insurance ‘A’ bt Bharathi ‘B’ 3-1; ITRC bt Bharathi ‘B’ 3-1; National Insurance ‘A’ bt Lucas-TVS 3-1; National Insurance ‘B’ bt Orchid Chemical ‘A’ 3-2 ; MMC ‘B’ bt SVDC 3-2.

Asan memorial volleyball

The Asan memorial college of arts and science is to conduct the third Asan memorial inter-collegiate volleyball tournament of February 6 and 7.

Twenty five colleges, including IIT Madras, Vels College, Mohammed Sathak College, Asan Engineering College are taking part.

State-level chess

Sri Krishna Chess Academy will conduct the seventh Krishnamoorthy memorial State-level tournament (under-7, 9, 11, 13 and 19) at the JN Stadium on February 16 and 17. Entries close on Feb. 13.

Call O.S. Shankar (99418-92859) for details.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper