VIJAYAWADA: Andhra Loyola College blanked SRR & CVR College 5-0, while host VKR College drubbed AJ College (Machilipatnam) 8-0 in the Acharya Nagarjuna University inter-collegiate hockey league tournament at the VKR College grounds, Buddavaram, on Saturday.

Sandeep struck thrice for the Loyola outfit. For VKR, Venkat Rao and Ramu scored a brace each.

Earlier, in the knock-out fixtures, SRR & CVR and AJC defeated ANU and Noble respectively to enter the league.

The results (league): ALC 5 (Sandeep 3, Kalyan 2) bt SRR & CVR 0; VKR 8 (Venkat Rao 2, Ramu 2, Ramesh, Pawan, Stalin, Nagu) bt AJC 0.

Knock-out: SRR & CVR 2 (T. Venkateswara Rao, Pratap) bt ANU 0; AJC 4 (Anil Kumar 3, N. S. Raju) bt Noble 0.

Sujan in last four

K. Sujan Kumar outplayed R. Nagendra Prasad 25-18, 25-16, while V. Srinivas Rao defeated J. Murali 25-24, 25-23 to enter the semifinals of the Krishna District Open carrom tournament at the Satyanarayanapuram Railway Institute Hall here on Saturday.

Earlier results: Sk. Shajahen bt George 25-18, 25-19; Tirupal bt S. Srinivas 25-19, 25-20; T. Mahesh bt M. Durga Prasad 25-5, 25-4; M. Ratna Raj bt M.P. Rao 25-0, 25-5.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper