V.V. Subrahmanyam

VISAKHAPATNAM: S. Arun Prasad of India Blues defeated Abhiijeet Gupta on the fourth board to deny India Reds a winning start in the first round of the round-robin league in men’s section of the Asian team chess championship for men and women here on Thursday.

Earlier, K. Sasikiran defeated Neelotpal Das on the top board in Sicilian Moscow Variation after the white blundered a pawn on the 14th move.

With J. Deepan Charkavarthy holding Surya Sekhar Ganguly and Gogineni Rohit also earning a similar verdict against GM Abhijit Kunte, the focus then shifted to tbe Arun Prasad-Abhijeet Gupta encounter which was the last to finsih on the fourth board.

There was another surprise when Vietnam held favourite China to a two-all draw. Chinese women posted a 3-0 win over India Blues.

The results: Team championship: Men: Iran bt Afghanistan 3-1 (Ghaem Maghami Ehsan bt Khaiber Farazi; Mahjoob Morteza bt Aziz Sharify; Darban Morteza bt Tahah Anit1-0; Ghane Shojaat lost to Habibullah Fedaee).

India Blues drew with India Reds 2-2 (Neelotpal Das lost to K. Sasikiran; J. Deepan Chakravarthy drew with Surya Sekhar Ganguly; Gogineni Rohit drew with Abhijit Kunte; S. Arun Prasad bt Abjijeet Gupta).

Sri Lanka lost to Uzbekistan 0-3 (Telge Peiris GayanMadushanka lost to Gareev Timur; R.M.C.M. Rajapakshe lost to Anton Filippov; M.KJ.A. Russell lost to Saidali Iuldachev).

Vietnam drew with China 2-2 (Nguyen Ngoc Truong Son bt Wang Yue; Lee Quang Liem drew with Bu Xiangzhi; NgyuenAnh Dung drew withWang Ho; Dao Thien Hai lost to Zhou Jianchao).

Women: India Greens lost to India Reds 0-3 (Ch. Sahajasri lost to Nisha Mohota; N.L.V. Anusha lost to Tania Sachdev; Y.G. Sriharika lost to Aarthie Ramaswamy).

India Blues lost to China 0-3 (Swathi Ghate lost to Zhao Xue; Soumya Swaminathan lost to Huang Qian; Amrutha Mokal lost to Shen Yang).

Iran bt Sri Lanka 3-0 (Atousa Pourkashiyan bt B.G.D.Umesha; Shadi Paridar bt S.A.Ranasinghe; Shayesteh Ghader Pour bt A. Rajapaksha).

Vietnam drew with Uzbekistan 2-2 (Le Thanh Tub t Yulduz Hamrakulova; Le Kieu Thien Kim lost to O.Sabirova; Hoang Thi Bao Tram drew with Nafisa Muminova).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper