around the city

print   ·   T  T  

Big win for Royal Sundaram

Royal Sundaram defeated Bharati AirTel by nine wickets in the Sterling Corporate Cricket League being held here.

The scores: AirTel (NSG) 152 for eight in 20 overs (Bharath 61, K. Raja three for 25) bt SKP Travels 124 in 19 overs (Bharath three for 21).

Maersk Global Service Centre 155 for five in 20 overs (Saravanan 42, Venkat Narayanan 38, Jagadeeswhwar 30) bt Scope Intl. 85 in 19 overs (Jayesh 30).

Royal Sundaram 192 for seven in 20 overs (T. Ramu 79, Narayanan 74, Peer four for 20) bt SeaPol Lines 105 for eight in 20 overs (Syed Ibrahim 30, Udhaya Kumar three for 18).

HCL Technologies 85 in 19 overs (Sudhakar Sumaithangi 25, Gopal four for 10) lost to TCS 86 for five in 20 overs (Venkat Vasan 27, G. Arun 25).

Bharati AirTel 111 in 20 overs (Osaid Siddique four for 22, Udaya Cheran three for 17) lost to Royal Sundaram 112 for one in 14 overs (S. Narayanan 58, Arijit Banerjee 38).

Arjun sizzles for FSCA

Arjun P. Murthy’s 101 helped FSCA defeat Adambakkam by 109 runs in an under-12 match of the WGCA Super League Trophy cricket tournament.

The scores: U-13: Unique 153 for six in 30 overs (Sanjay 27, B. Teja 25) bt MAS 101 for nine in 30 overs (Badrinath 33); NCCA 90 in 23.2 overs (Gurumoorthy 31) bt PSCA 76 in 26.4 overs.

U-12: Budding Star 174 for three in 30 overs (B. Aanirudh 39, Arjun 61, B.T. Bijju 40) bt WGCA ‘B’  86 in 22.5 overs (B. Anirudh 28, Karthickeyan three for 16).

FSCA 216 for four in 30 overs (Arjun P. Murthy 101, C.P. Akshath 27, T.E. Krishnan 40) bt Adambakkam 107 in 28.2 overs (Vijaysundar three for eight).

Little Heart 148 for four in 30 overs (R. John Samuel Abhishek 69) lost to Elite 149 for five in 29.5 overs (Anurag 57, C. Safin 62, T.M. Shreyas three for 22).

Vasanth, Antony score centuries

Centuries by Blue Wings’ S. Vasanth Raj and Antony Roche of Wolverines ensured their teams’ wins in the Jai Hind Trophy cricket tournament.

The scores: Blue Wings 212 for four in 30 overs (Prithivi Raj 35, S. Vasanth Raj 101, K. Vasudevan 34) bt Tail Enders 123 in 25 overs (Auran Geoge 27, Senthil Kumar 28, R. Kumar three for 22, Muralidharan three for 23).

Asiatic 207 for eight in 30 overs (A. Ashwath 71, P. Sudharsan 27, Jaya Pon Balan three for 20) bt R & W Pumas 105 in 23.3 overs (Murali 36, G. Prashanth four for 31, Anok Raju three for seven).

Kotak Mahindra 150 for six in 22 overs (G. Suresh Kumar 43, T. Venkatesh 27, K.M. Sharan three for 37) bt CSK 123 in 21.3 overs (K.M. Sharan 51, M. Vishal 27, D. Balaji three for 22).

Wolverines 238 for eight in 30 overs (N. Lakshman 58, Antony Roche 101, Gajendra Pandian four for 43) bt United Star 175 for nine in 30 overs (Fastin Xavier 46, M. Shubanand 28, Avy Vargese three for 13).

All-round show by Parav

Parav’s all-round performance (44 not out & three for 10) enabled Khans ‘B’ script a 27-run victory over Lady Andal in the CCCA-Prema Ganesan memorial under-12 cricket tournament.

The scores: Khans ‘B’ 116 for six in 20 overs (Parav 44 n.o.) bt Lady Andal 89 in 19.4 overs (Raghu three for nine, Parav three for 10).

Sastra posts win

Sastra (Kumbakonam) defeated Periyar (Salem) 2-0 in the first round of the SRM University South Zone inter-university chess (men and women) tournament, organised by SRM University at its premises near here.

Other results: First round: SRM (Che) bt Madurai Kamaraj (Mdu) 2-0; VTU (Belgaum) bt Adikavi Nannaya (Rajahmundry) 2-0; Vinayaka Missions (Slm) lost to Anna (Che) 2-0; Mahatma Gandhi (Kottayam) bt Karnataka 2-0; Mangalore lost to Calicut 2-0; Madras bt Tiruvallur 2-0; Gulbarga lost to Rajiv Gandhi Health Sciences (Kar) 2-0; Kuvempu (Shimoga) lost to Cochin Science & Tech. 2-0; Kerala Health Sciences bt KLEF (Guntur) 2-0.

Muthyam triumphs

S.R. Muthyam of Andhra Pradesh won the seventh KCF-FIDE rating chess tournament (below 1,600)  on Sunday.

Final placings: 1-6: S.R. Muthyam (AP), V. Pulkit Rathi, K. Keerthivasan, Arjun Kalyan, N.D. Rakshith, V. Prem Anantha Rajan (all TN) 8; 7-10: S. Jeevanandam (TN), Shambo Dutta (WB), S. Kasinathan, R. Anand (TN) 7.5.

Fireball ‘A’, MRC in final

Fireball ‘A’ will meet MRC in the men’s doubles (30+) final of the Fireball-Tamil Nadu inter-club badminton tournament here on Monday.

The results (semifinals): Men’s doubles (30+ years): Fireball ‘A’ bt RBC (Vellore) 2-1; MRC bt Fireball ‘C’ 2-0.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

ONGC (Dehradun) which won the 56th all-India basketball tournment at Periyakulam on Wednesday.

ONGC (Dehradun) keeps clean slate

ONGC (Dehradun) defeated Air Force (New Delhi) 79-71 in the final league match to finish with three wins out of three and win the 56th al... »