Hierarchies were torn apart as Tamil Nadu and Hyderabad succumbed against Andhra and Kerala respectively while Karnataka rode high on Robin Uthappa’s whirlwind 169 to underline its supremacy over a battling Goa in the Subbaiah Pillai Trophy South Zone limited-over cricket tournament which commenced at various Goan venues on Thursday.

At the Margao Cricket Club, Tamil Nadu was coasting with skipper Dinesh Karthik (70) and S. Badrinath (53) in fine fettle after reviving the team from 31 for two in 8.5 overs against Andhra.

Dropped on 11 by Shaik Basha, Karthik, along with Badrinath, bided his time.

Later, the duo punished the bowlers with neat drives and cuts but the batting Power Play (overs 34 to 38) that yielded 14 runs and marred by three dismissals, scuttled Tamil Nadu.

A 123-run third-wicket partnership was over in a span of two deliveries as Karthik found the fielder at the square-leg fence and Badrinath’s ambition to muscle one through the on-side only exposed his stumps.


Medium-pacer Vijay Kumar had done the damage and Tamil Nadu slid down alarmingly while seamer Syed Shahabuddin and left-arm spinner B. Sudhakar choked Karthik’s men. Chasing Andhra’s 228, Tamil Nadu finished on 221 for nine.

Earlier for Andhra, Amol Muzumdar showed his experience with a run-a-ball unbeaten 60.

Karnataka, meanwhile, overcame the Goan revolt at Porvorim. The defending champion was gutted in the forenoon session as host captain Sagun Kamat’s 110 (112b, 12x4, 2x6) powered Goa to 318 for eight.

A lot hinged on Uthappa’s bat as the visitor commenced its chase and though the opener saw K.L. Rahul depart cheaply, he continued unhindered.

Uthappa’s 169 (118b, 16x4, 7x6) and his 214-run second-wicket partnership with Ganesh Satish (61) sealed the match in Karnataka’s favour. Stuart Binny’s men scored 319 for four in 46.3 overs.

In another game at Vasco, Hyderabad never recovered from its morning session’s score of 21 for four while the Kerala seamers Prasanth Parameswaran and Sandeep Warrier exulted.

Hyderabad mustered 192 for eight and Kerala flourished on Rohan Prem’s 93 to achieve the target within 40 overs and gain a bonus point.

The scores:

At Margao: Andhra 228 in 46.2 overs (Amol Muzumdar 60 n.o., Syed Shahabuddin 34, Ajay Kumar 29, B. Sumanth 28, Prasanth Kumar 27, Sunil Sam three for 37, Rahil S. Shah three for 54) bt Tamil Nadu 221 for nine in 50 overs (Dinesh Karthik 70, S. Badrinath 53, B. Aparajith 30, Shahabuddin four for 33). Andhra 4 pts, Tamil Nadu 0 .

At Porvorim: Goa 318 for eight in 50 overs (Sagun Kamat 110, A.S. Desai 62, Robin Ronald D’Souza 54, K.P. Appanna three for 56) lost to Karnataka 319 for four in 46.3 overs (Robin Uthappa 169, Ganesh Satish 61, Karun Nair 32 n.o., Stuart Binny 31 n.o.). Karnataka 4, Goa 0 .

At Vasco: Hyderabad 192 for eight in 50 overs (G.H. Vihari 81, Amol Shinde 39 n.o., Ashish Reddy 39, Prasanth Parameswaran four for 24, Sandeep Warrier three for 30) lost to Kerala 193 for four in 39.2 overs (Rohan Prem 93, Robert Fernandez 31, Sanju Viswanath 27). Kerala 5 (inclusive of a bonus point), Hyderabad 0 .

Friday’s matches: At Margao: Andhra vs Hyderabad; At Porvorim: Goa vs TN; At Vasco: Karnataka vs Kerala.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper