India’s chess Grandmaster and World champion Viswanathan Anand will be present at the team allotment ceremony of the inaugural “HR Johnson Maharashtra Chess League” at Pune on April 4.

The players’ auction will be held on April 13 and the league will be played from April 24 to 29. The league — a brainchild of Abhijit Kunte — has been recognised by FIDE and the All India Chess Federation.

The inaugural league will have six teams with six players each. Each team will have at least one GM, one women GM and one IM. Suyashekhar Ganguly, G.N. Gopal, M.R. Lalith Babu, M.R. Venkatesh and S. Arun Prasad have agreed to take part.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper