Host Anantapur emerged the winner of the quadrangular cricket tournament that concluded here on Saturday. RDT Academy and CVR Academy, Hyderabad took the second and third positions respectively. In the final match, CVR Academy defeated Bangalore’s Jain International Residential School by 101 runs.

The scores: CVR Academy (Hyderabad) 248 for three in 30 overs (Akshith 104 n.o, Christy Victor 93) bt Jain IRS (Bangalore) 147 for eight in 30 overs (Tanmay 34).

NTRUHS teams

The following players will represent Dr. NTR University of Health Sciences in men’s tennis in the South Zone inter-University championship to be conducted by Krishna University at the Andhra Loyola College tennis complex from Jan. 17 to 21.

The athletics squad to take apart in the South Zone inter-University meet at Kalyani University from Jan. 22 to 26 was also named.

The teams: Athletics: Men: P. Srinivasa Rao, P. Mahesh. V. Ashok Reddy, D. Ganga Pratap, K. Siva Ram Prasad, K. Mallikharjuna Naik, G. Dharanidhur. Women: K. Laxmi Vijetha, P. Sandhya, T. Hima Sowjanya.

Tennis: Men: Sai Teja, S. Thamman, B. Dhiran Showri, K. Daniel Ritish Paul, S. Vikas.

Chess tournament

A non-medallist district open chess tournament for school children will be held at the Chennupati Ramakotaiah indoor stadium on January 16. Rated players and medallist are not eligible. Special prizes will be awarded for age group segment (u-7, 9, 11, 13 and 15). For details call T. Naresh, mob: 9493501506.

Matches drawn

At Anantapur, the match between Anantapur and Guntakal and RDT and Gandlapenta ended in a draw in the Ananta Premier League tournament on Saturday.

The scores: Anantapur 134 (Raghavendra 35, Imran four for 23, Suryanarayana three for 21) and 89 for five (Munaf 53, Imran three for 42) drew with Guntakal 177 (Imran 40, Mohan 32, Dadakhalandar five for 42); RDT CA 297 (Bhaskar 90, Ibrahim 58, Mahaboob Peera 33, Mubarak three for 67) drew with Gandlapenta 261 for nine (D. Ashok Reddy 56 n.o., Shakeer 33, Jaheed 31, Adi Narayana 30, Bhaskar four for 64).

Hockey tournament

At Nellore, the Andhra Pradesh junior men’s (under-18) hockey tournament will be held at the A.C. Subba Reddy Stadium from Jan. 17 to 20, Hockey Andhra Pradesh secretary M. Niranjan Reddy said on Saturday.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper