Sports Reporter

Coimbatore: Amanjyot Singh performed creditably under pressure to win the category `A' of the Southern India junior and sub-junior golf championship at the par-72 Coimbatore Golf Club course here on Friday.

The 16-year-old from Jaipur fired a four-over 76 to win at 10-over 298. Amanjyot began the day with a four-stroke lead over his nearest rival Rahul Bakshi. The Chandigarh youngster was expected to fire but failed to read the course well when it mattered most and finished second at 305, courtesy a final round 79.

Amanjyot started with two pars before double bogeying on the eighth. However, he did not let that trouble him and came up with birdies on the fifth and the 13th hole to seal the game in his favour. "I have been working pretty hard with my dad the whole year through and I am quite confident of winning every title on this circuit," said Amanjyot.

Category B belonged to Chikka Rangappa. The Bangalore boy romped home by 12 strokes over Kolkata's Rommel Majumdar at 313. Even as Amanjyot and Chikka were brushing aside the challenge of their opponents, the entire crowd had their eyes fixed on the junior category. Talented Viraat Badhwar from Delhi took Kapurthala's Ashbir Singh Saini into the play-off and finished off in style in his maiden appearance with a 25-footer.

Akash Srinivasan from Bangalore posted a four-stroke win over Abhishek Kumar to emerge category D champion.

Former golf captain of the Coimbatore Golf Club, Dr. V.P. Subbian, gave away the prizes.

The scores (after 72 holes): Category A (15-17 years): Amanjyot Singh (76, 75, 72, 75) 298; Rahul Bakshi (79, 72, 76, 78) 305; Divyanshu Bajaj (75, 81, 78, 79) 313.

Category B (13-14 years): Chikka Rangappa (76, 80, 80, 80) 316; Rommel Majumdar (81, 83, 82, 82) 328; Akash Vats (86, 88, 82, 82) 338.

Category C (11-12 yrs): Viraat Badhwar (80, 81, 81, 87) 329; Ashbeer Saini (82, 79, 83, 75) 329; Ankur Chadha (90, 83, 86, 83) 342.

Category D (10 yrs and below, after 54 holes): Akash Srinivasan (83, 88, 88) 259; Abhishek Kuhar (86, 86, 91) 263; Vidit Singh (92, 88, 91) 271.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper