B. Ganesh’s allround effort (39 n.o. and three for 25) helped Nagapattinam to a narrow one run win over Thanjavur in the State-level cricket tournament for the Silver Jubilee Trophy here on Saturday.

The scores: Madurai 91 for nine in 23 overs (M.R. Prabhakar four for 18) lost to Trichy 94 for one in 12.1 overs (C. Rajesh 49 n.o., M. Pravin Kumar 29 n.o.).

Nagapattinam 174 for six in 30 overs (T. Vigneshpathy 62, B. Ganesh 39 n.o.) bt Thanjavur 173 in 29 overs (B. Bala Karthick 77, M. Prabhu 45, B. Ganesh three for 25).

Tuticorin Pearl 143 in 28.5 overs (G.V. Prabhakar 32, P. Sharath three for 21) bt Thiruvarur 117 in 27.3 overs (K. Narayanan 38, Venkatesh three for 13, Gurusamy three for 16, Muthukumar three for 22).

Tuticorin 129 in 22.4 overs (Edwin 40, Ramu three for 17) bt Ramnad 103 in 24 overs (James Raj three for 19, Sunder Raj three for 10).

Easy for Rockfort FC

Rockfort Football Club, Dindigul had a comfortable 3-1 win over Solar Football Club, Nilakottai in the DDFA league for the SPD Tools trophy at Dindigul on Saturday.

The results : RVS FC, Dindigul 1 (Arockia Vijay Kumar) bt St. Mary’s FC, Dindigul 0; Rockfort FC, Dindigul 3 (Nisanthan, Manikandan, Collins) bt Solar FC, Nilakottai 1 (Kumaresan); Annai Sport, Dindigul 1 (P. Henry) bt PSNA FC, Dindigul 0; Sun Sports Club, Dindigul 0 drew with GTN FC, Dindigul 0.

SDAT, ONGC advance

SDAT (Chennai) and ONGC (Dehradun) entered the semifinals of the 22nd All-India volleyball tournament for the TMB Trophy here.

Three teams finished with two wins each in Group B, but the Chennai and Dehradun teams made the grade through tie-break system (on the basis of better set average). The other team, KSEB (Trivandrum), won its match against Indian Air Force but lost out on inferior set average

In the round-robin women’s league match, Western Railway (Mumbai) came from two sets down to beat Central Railway.

The results: Men: ONGC, Dehradun bt SDAT, Chennai 25-20, 26-28, 25-22, 25-20; KSEB, Trivandrum bt Indian Air Force 25-15, 25-14, 25-19. Women: Western Railway, Mumbai bt Central Railway, Solapur 13-25, 23-25, 25-18, 25-23, 15-13.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper