Special Correspondent

Chennai: S. Anirudha capped a memorable all-round performance with a blistering unbeaten 79 (54b, 4x6, 8x4) as Aruna chased 132 without losing a wicket to nail eight points against Parry’s in a TNCA first division match at the Murugappa ground here on Thursday.

Jesubabu Honeymen was 51 not out (53b, 8x4) when this second round contest hurtled to a finish in the 18th over of the fourth innings.

Anirudha had made 65 in the first innings and then picked up six for 49 with his off-spin in Parry’s second innings; the side was dismissed for 163 with Juzer Abbas making an unbeaten 48.

Jolly Rovers took the lead against Vijay at IIT-Chemplast. Resuming at 227 for nine – the side was pursuing 265 for the first innings advantage – Vijay was dismissed for 239.

Paceman R. Jesuraj claimed the last wicket when he had L. Balaji (34) caught behind. Rovers declared at 204 for three in its second innings with S. Vidyut top-scoring with 68 (92b, 7x4, 2x6).

Nail-biting over

In a nail-biting final over at MRF-Pachaiyappa’s, Grand Slam’s last man M. Sridhar Raj played the last five deliveries of the over from off-spinner Sunny Gupta to deny Globe Trotters the lead.

Earlier, A.C. Pratiban (29 not out off 124 balls) and V. Arun Kumar (14 off 36) gobbled up 83 deliveries in a defiant ninth wicket stand before the latter fell in the first ball of the last over. Grand Slam finished at 268 for nine.

Earlier, E. Aswin scored 80 (88b, 13x4, 1x6) and Hemang Badani, 40. Sunny Gupta scalped four.

Left-arm spinner M. Suresh Babu consumed six batsmen enabling India Pistons dismiss IOB for 210 for the lead at CPT-IP. Robert Fernandez offered a measure of resistance with 63 (135b, 10x4).

Indian Bank, which successfully chased 231 for the lead over Young Stars at MAC, was helped by a 70-run partnership for the eighth wicket in 27 overs between Mohsin Basha (65, 168b, 7x4) and N. Suraj (36). For Young Stars, paceman R.B. Ashwin took four wickets.

Host Southern Railway grabbed a 62-run lead after bowling out UFCC (T. Nagar) for 290. Left-arm spinner P. Prashant prised out four batsmen while offie P. Munnuswamy dismissed three.

The scores: At Murugappa: Parry’s 140 & 163 in 74.1 overs (Juzer Abbas 48 not out, S. Anirudha six for 49) lost to Aruna 172 & 133 for no loss in 17.5 overs (S. Anirudha 79 not out, J. Honeymen 51 not out). Points: Aruna 8; Parry’s 0.

At MRF-Pachaiyappa’s: Globe Trotters 436 drew with Grand Slam 268 for nine in 115 overs (E. Aswin 80, H. Badani 40, Sunny Gupta four for 48). Trotters 3; Grand Slam 3.

At IIT-Chemplast: Jolly Rovers 264 & 204 for three decl. in 52 overs (D. Karthik 41, G. Vignesh 43, S. Vidyut 68, Maaruthi Raghav 46 not out) drew with Vijay 239 in 80.2 overs (S. Suresh Kumar 52, S. Vidyut five for 49). Rovers 5; Vijay 2.

At S. Railway: Southern Railway 352 & 51 for one in 11 overs drew with UFCC (T. Nagar) 290 in 104.5 overs (Sambasiva Sarma 68, P. Prashant four for 59). S. Rly 5; UFCC 2.

At MAC: Young Stars 231 & 56 for three in 14.4 overs drew with Indian Bank 286 in 140.2 overs (Vijay Shankar 76, B. Indrajith 51, Mohsin Basha 65, R.B. Ashwin four for 71). Indian Bank 5; Young Stars 2.

At CPT-IP: India Pistons 448 for seven decl. drew with IOB 210 in 87.3 overs (Robert Fernandez 63, M. Suresh Babu six for 30) & 10 without loss in five overs. Pistons 5; IOB 2.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper