Akshaya ‘B' (Hyderabad), comprising Dr. V. Mohan Rao (captain), S.M.A. Quadri, Dr. Daniel Elias, Dr. Wajid Ali Mirza, K. M. Sainathan and Moinuddin, won the team of four duplicate event in Film Nagar Cultural Centre (FNCC) All India Open bridge tournament .

Other results: Board –a-match: 1. Sri Loknath Team, Bhuvaneshwar, 98 IMPs, 2. Kaushik ‘A' Hyderabad 93 IMPs, 3. Ramashastry Team Hyderabad 91 IMPS, 4. Moldtek Team Hyderabad 87 IMPs, 5. FNCC 84 IMPs.

Pairs event: 1. B. Ram Mohan Rao & C. Ashok Reddy, 2. T. Panigrahi & Rout, 3. Y.V. Rao & Ch. Koteshwar Rao, 4. Dr. V. Mohan Rao & K.M. Sainathan, 5. N.N. Reddy & M.S. S. Rao .

Tilak sizzles

A fine spell by Tilak (six for 29) for Cheerful Chums was the highlight of the A-Division (one-day) league cricket championship here.

The scores: A-Division (two-day) league: Budding Stars 174 lost to Sai Saitya 175 for nine (Sharath Mudhiraj 78, Gopi 38, Wasim Ali five for 91).

A-Division (one-day) league: HUCC 209 (Mohd. Ateeq 51, Mohd. Kaleem Uddin 36, Mohd Samiuddin 33, Munaf Subhani 32, Tilak six for 29) bt Cheerful Chums 169 (Tarun 54, Noor-e-Mujassim three for 27, Mohd Kaleemuddin three for 40).

A-Division Institution league: HAL 172 (Sandeep 43, Pannelal 32, Ramana three for 40) bt IICT 113 (Srinivas 43 not out, Ganesh Kumar six for 40).

NFC 126 (Narshima 41, Ashok Bhandari three for 29, Sai three for 31) lost to Indian Airlines 127 for two (Jatian Metha 93).

RBI 32 (Wilson four for two, Rajeev five for four) lost to CCMB 33 no loss.

Midhani 134 (Venu 34, Akhatar five for 23) bt Central Bank 62 (Venu three for 18, Akash three for nine, Ajay three for four).

Athletics team

Hyderabad District athletics team, which is to take part in the National inter-district meet to be held in Haridwar from October 27 to 30, was presented kit by Mr. A. Narasimha Reddy, chairman of AP Bar Council and president of HDAA, here.

The team: Men: B. Kantha Rao, M. Neelakanta, Durg Vijay Chauhan, M. Suresh, Devender Kumar, L. Biteshwar and Krishna Kumar. Women: C. Menitha, Atiya Begum, R. Kalaivani, K. Deepthi and P. Harshini. Manager: Mohan Rao .

Golf tournament

The Golf Association of Andhra Pradesh will organise the eighth State senior amateur cash prize golf tournament for (0-7 handicappers) on November 20 and 21 for 36 holes on stroke-play, according to G. Dawson, organizing secretary.

All the clubs and golfers may send their entries on or before November 13.

Vamshi wins title

Vamsikrishna Reddy won the juniors category title with 4.5 points from five rounds in the Sunday invitational chess tournament organised by Hyderabad District Chess Association here.

Final placings: Juniors: 1. Vamsikrishna Reddy, 2. G. Poojitha, 3. M. Samyuk, 4. Sai Harsha 5. Aarcha.

Open category: 1 M. Y. Raju, 2. K. Anoop, 3.V. Sriram, 4. Shaji, 5. A. Kavya .

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper