Two date of births — one as registered with the BCCI and another in his passport — has cost Maharashtra's Ankit Bawne the captaincy of the India under-19 team.

The BCCI found out the anomaly and thereafter the junior national committee named Delhi's Unmukt Chand captain for the quadrangular series to be played in Visakhapatnam from September 27 to October 9. The other teams in the series are Australia, West Indies and Sri Lanka.

The team: Unmukt Chand (Delhi, captain), Kumar Deobrat (Jharkhand, vice-captain), Akhil Herwadkar, (Mumbai), B. Aparajith (TN), Hanuman Vihari (Hyderabad), Smit Patel (Gujarat), Akshdeep Nath (UP), Vikas Mishra (Delhi), Harmeet Singh (Mumbai), Kamal Passi (Punjab), Rush Kaleria (Gujarat), Mohsin Sayyad (Maharashtra), Sandeep Sharma (Punjab), Manan Vohra (Punjab) and Shreyas Gopal (Karnataka) . — Special Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper