Principal Correspondent

KOCHI: After three tries over four years, Thrissur’s Aamir Sohrab finally conquered local star Adithya Bhat 1-6, 6-2, 6-3 and entered the under-16 boys final of the RSC-AITA Talent Series all-India tennis tournament at the Regional Sports Centre here on Wednesday. It was Aamir’s maiden entry in an under-16 Talent Series final.

“I still can’t believe I’ve beaten Adithya…for the last few years people have been saying that he’s the best player around,” said the 14-year-old, minutes after his memorable victory.

Aamir, who plays at the Kinattingal Tennis Academy in Thrissur, had to fight for the victory. He lost the first set badly. “I was a bit confused how to play a left-hander,” he said.

But he slowly found the answers as the match wore on, attacking Adithya’s backhand and then surprising the Kochi youngster with an occasional one to his forehand.

The unseeded Aamir will take on Tamil Nadu’s top-seeded Venkat Raman in Thursday’s final.

The under-12 boys’ final will be an all-TN affair with M. Harish Chakravarthy and M. Sankar Narayan reaching the big stage and in the under-16 girls’ section, Tamil Nadu’s C.S. Praneetha will meet Kerala’s Sneha Susan Thomas in the final.

The results: Boys: under-16: semifinals: Venkat Raman (TN) bt Varun Nair (Ker) 6-0, 6-0; Aamir Sohrab (Ker) bt Adithya Bhat (Ker) 1-6, 6-2, 6-3. Quarterfinals: Venkat bt M. Harish Chakravarthy (TN) 6-3, 2-6, 6-1; Varun bt Anirudh Jaindhan (Ker) 7-6, 6-4; Aamir bt Mathew T. Lathra (Ker) 6-1, 6-2; Adithya bt M. Rehan Kumar (TN) 6-0, 6-0.

Under-12: semifinals: M. Harish Chakravarthy (TN) bt Preeth Kumar Ramdoss (TN) 6-0, 6-2; M. Sankar Narayan (TN) bt Anirudh Jaindhan (Ker) 6-2, 6-0. Quarterfinals: Sankar bt Tarun T. Kurien (Ker) 6-1, 6-0; Preeth bt Dayan J. Madhu (Ker) 6-0, 6-0; Anirudh bt M. Rehan Kumar (TN) 6-0, 6-3; Harish w.o. Jithin George (Ker).

Girls: under-16: semifinals: C.S. Praneetha (TN) bt Apekshita Alkesh (Del) 6-0, 6-1; Sneha Susan Thomas (Ker) bt T.M. Priyadarshini (TN) 6-2, 6-1. Quarterfinals: C.S. Praneetha bt Sonia Susan (Ker) 6-1, 6-0; Apekshita bt C.R. Nidhithra (TN) 6-4, 6-2; Sneha bt Anjali Jaindhan (Ker) 6-2, 6-1; Priyadharshini bt Hrishika Rajesh (TN) 6-0, 6-1.

Under-12: quarterfinals: C.R. Nidhitra (TN) bt Tanui Bhat (Ker) 6-2, 7-5; Apekshita Alkesh (Del) bt Neana Benesh (Ker) 6-2, 6-0; Gaayatri Shankar (Ker) bt Hrishika Rajesh (TN) 7-6, 6-4.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper