The Archery Association of India (AAI) will revive its immensely popular National-ranking prize money tournament this year. A series of four followed by a final on the lines of world archery’s World Cup meets will keep the Indian archers busy throughout the year.

The first of the tournaments will be held at the Sports Authority of Andhra Pradesh Sports Complex at Gachibowli in Hyderabad from February 22 to 25.

Top 16 archers, as per the ranking achieved at the Chennai National championship, in all four divisions (recurve and compound, men and women) will be invited to participate in the first NRAT. The third NRAT will have top 20 in order to give upcoming archers an opportunity to compete with the best in India.

An archer who failed to attend the Chennai National or did not figure in the top 16 rank but has represented India in Olympics / Asian Games / World championship / World Cup / Asian championship / Youth World championship since 2009 and Asian GP since 2011 will be eligible to take part.

The first NRAT will be the selection trials for the Indian team for the first Asian GP at Bangkok from March 9 to 15.

The AAI is yet to decide on the dates of the other NRATs.

The points earned by an archer in each of the NRAT will be used to determine his or her final standing and eligibility to compete in the NRAT final. Points earned at the NRAT will be carried forward in drawing up the finalists who will compete for the top spots.

The selection of the Indian teams for international competitions will also be based on the results of the NRAT.

The 16 who have qualified in the following order: Recurve: Men: Rahul Banerjee (Rly), Rajib Basumatary (Ser), Kapil (Rly), Raj Gobind Swansi (Ser), Thepuvoyi Swuro (Nag), Jayanta Talukdar (SPSB), Dinesh Du. Bhil (Guj), Mangal Singh Champia (Rly), Pawan Xalxo (Jhr), Taundeep Rai (Ser), Atanu Das (SPSB), Baidyanath (ITBP), Binod Swansi (SPSB), Gurucharan Besra (Bih), Avinash (UP), Muni Ram Tirkey (Ben).

Women: Deepika Kumari (SPSB), Dola Banerjee (Rly), Rimil Buriuly (Rly), Laxmirani Majhi (Jhr), L. Bombayala Devi (Rly), Seema (UP), Pratima Boro (Asm), Satbir Kaur (Rly), Gunjan Kumari (SPSB), V. Pranitha (Cht), Mainow Narzary (Asm), Padyawati Sardar (SPSB), Prativa Boro (Asm), Priyanka (Pun), Sita Rani Tudi (Jhr), Reshma Banerjee (Ben).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper