BANGALORE: The inaugural 6 Reds snooker National championship for men and women will be hosted by the Karnataka State Billiards Association (KSBA) from March 7. The final is slated for March 15.

The rolling trophy for the national will be in the memory of the late O.B. Agarwal, who ruled the game in the late 70's and ‘80's before his untimely death.

One hundred and ninetyone players will figure in the two days of qualifying rounds before the 64 qualifiers will join the 16 seeded players. The 16 players based on the last snooker nationals rankings, will head the 16 groups with five players from the 64 qualifiers slotted in each group. The top two from each group will then figure in the round of 32. While the knock-out and league matches will be in the best of seven format, the round of 32 and 16 will be of best of nine frames with the quarterfinals being best of 11, semifinals (best of 13) and final (best of 15) for men. The KSBA will conduct the first of the four selection camps, slated before the Asian Games, immediately after the nationals. The week long camp in snooker and billiards for men and snooker for women concludes on March 22. — Special Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper