Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav gave away the Yash Bharti awards to 15 recipients drawn from the fields of literature, arts, sports and public service at a function held at Ram Manohar Lohia Park here on Saturday. Samajwadi Party president Mulayam Singh was present.

The awards, which were discontinued by the Bahujan Samaj Party regime, have been revived after a gap of six years. They were instituted in 1994 when Mr. Singh was the Chief Minister.

Those who were conferred the awards on Saturday are Chhanu Lal Mishra (eminent vocalist); Satyamrit Dubey (literature); Waseem Barelvi (Urdu poetry); Ram Krishna Rajput (writer); Amir Raza Hussain (theatre); Sarita Sharma (poetess); Mewa Lal Yadav (wrestling); Vivek Gupta (hockey), Narsimha Yadav (wrestling); Anshu Tomar (wrestling); Rajendra Yadav (writer and editor); Abhijit (film playback singing), Suresh Raina (cricket), Javed Ali (playback singing) and Mast Ram Kapoor (literature). Each award carries a cash prize of Rs.11 lakh, a shawl and a citation.Foundation stones for two schemes, Jayaprakash Narayan Convention Centre and Janeshwar Mishra Park, were laid by the Chief Minister.

Speaking on the occasion, Mr. Yadav lauded the award winners and said that unlike the measures launched by the Congress-led government at the Centre and by the previous regime in the State, direct benefit had accrued to the people from the schemes launched by the Samajwadi Party government.