Despite being comfortable with numbers on its side and the TDP’s decision not to support the no-trust motion, the Congress party did not take any chance ahead of the voting.

Party’s floor managers worked over time to ensure that all members were present in the House at the time of the voting late on Friday night.

According to sources, at least six MLAs were not present following which Congress party whips got in touch with them immediately.


They first contacted former Minister Komatireddy Venkata Reddy, who has been quite critical of the party and its delaying tactics on the Telangana issue.

He reportedly promised to reach the Assembly two hours before voting. Congress leaders also made arrangements to shift Nakrekal MLA C.Lingaiah, who was admitted in a City hospital, in an ambulance to the Assembly to cast his vote.

Similarly, former Minister P.Shankar Rao was requested to come to the House while Jubilee Hills MLA P.Visnuvardhan Reddy was told to cut short his campaign in the Borabanda division by-polls in GHMC. Vice-chairman of National Disaster Management Authority Marri Sashidhar Reddy was contacted in New Delhi to mark his attendance in the Assembly at any cost. Tekkali MLA K. Bharati, who was away in USA, was also given similar instructions.

To make doubly sure that all Congress members attended the House, telegrams were sent to eight rebel MLAs on Thursday night.