The Telangana Rashtra Samiti has fielded a candidate, Mahmood Ali, for the upcoming election to the Legislative Council.

Mr. Ali filed his nomination papers on Thursday making inevitable the contest for the 10 seats in the Upper House from the Assembly quota. Each candidate should secure a minimum of 30 votes to win the election. The TRS has 17 MLAs of its own and it is banking on the support of the CPI which has four MLAs. Nagam Janardhan Reddy of the Telangana Nagara Bheri and two TDP rebels S. Venugopalachary and K. Harishwar Reddy are reported to be in favour of the TRS nominee in addition to an Independent, S. Satyanarayana, taking the total number to 25.

TRS floor leader Etala Rajender, who accompanied Mr. Ali said, “We already have the support of 25 members and are in active consultations with MLAs from the Telangana region seeking their support. He, however, refused to elaborate on whether the party was expecting support from the ruling Congress or the TDP MLAs from the Telangana region.