The relief money will be credited to farmers’ bank accounts

Following the recent visit of a high-level delegation to drought –hit areas, the State government has allocated drought relief to the tune of Rs.103 crore for farmers in Tuticorin district.

A high-level team had inspected the drought-ravaged agricultural lands in the district on March 13 and ascertained the extent of damage to crops. According to a statement from the district administration, farmers whose paddy crop suffered more than 50 per cent damage would get relief of Rs.5,000 an acre. Those who suffered crop loss in areas under irrigation will get Rs.4, 000 per acre. The relief for rain-fed crops will be Rs.3,000 an acre.

The relief money will be credited to the farmers’ accounts in either primary agriculture cooperative banks or nationalised banks. The farmers should provide photocopies of bank pass books to the Village Administrative Officers concerned at the earliest. If any farmer wishing to seek drought relief did not have a bank account, he should open one in a cooperative or nationalised bank immediately, Collector Ashish Kumar said.

To expedite the disbursal of relief assistance, the Collector convened a meeting here on Wednesday. Officials from the Departments of Agriculture, Revenue and Cooperation and bankers participated in the meeting. The Collector appealed to the officials to help disburse the relief amounts to the farmers at the earliest.

Rs.5 crore for Kanyakumari

The government has allocated drought relief to the tune of Rs.5 crore for farmers in Kanyakumari district, said Collector S.Nagarajan.

Presiding over a special gram sabha meeting at Melasankarankuzhi, held in view of May Day, he said the government had already announced compensation for those who lost their crops during ‘kumbapoov’ season and for coconut farmers. The affected farmers could collect the compensation amount at the Primary Agriculture Cooperative Societies, he said.

He distributed welfare assistance to 69 beneficiaries — 21 persons under the Green House Scheme and 48 under the Indra Awas Yojana.