P.Subbian, Professor of Agronomy, Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore, is among the 11 recipients of the Tamil Nadu Scientist Award 2010 instituted by the Tamil Nadu State Council for Science and Technology.

Dr.Subbian has won the award for his research in the field of Agricultural Sciences.

According to an official release, the objective of this scheme is to encourage and honour scientists and researchers who have contributed significantly to their fields of specialisation through their skill, pioneering\outstanding applied research work and other such activities leading to science and technology development in the State.

Those who have been chosen for the award in various other disciplines include: E.Padmini, Associate Professor in Biochemistry, Bharathi Women's College, Chennai (Biological Sciences) ; P.Rajkumar, Professor and Head of Organic Chemistry, University of Madras, Chennai (Chemical Sciences) ; G.Victor Rajamanickam,Director,Centre for Research, Sairam Group of Institutions, Chennai (Environmental Sciences) ; C. Balaji, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, IIT-Madras (Engineering and Technology); K.Parthasarathy,Professor and Head, Department of Life Long Learning, Bharathidasan University,Trichy (Home \Social Sciences); S.Somasundaram, Professor and Head of Mathematics, Manonmaniam Sundaranar University,Tirunelveli (Mathematics); I. Sathyamurthy,Director, Department of Cardiology, Apollo Hospitals, Chennai, and P. Sachidanandam, Professor of Medical Bio-chemistry, Dr. ALMPGIBMS,University of Madras, Chennai ( Medical Sciences); P.Kolandaivel, Professor and Head, Department of Physics, Bharathiar University,Coimbatore (Physics), and T.Sivakumar, Professor and Head, Livestock Production and Management, Madras Veterinary College, Chennai (Veterinary Sciences).

Cash award and citation

A cash award of Rs 10,000 and a citation will be presented to these scientists at a ceremony to be arranged by the council at a later date.

Nomination for TANSA 2011 is invited from nominating authorities.

Details are available on the Council website www.tanscst.org. The last date for submission of nomination is November 15, 2011.

Dr. Subbian has won the award for his research in the field of agricultural sciences