: The State government has constituted a committee to recommend names of three candidates for the post of Vice-Chancellor, Tamil Nadu Veterinary and Animal Science University (TANUVAS).

The term of the present Vice-Chancellor R.Prabakaran expires on October 18. The search Committee’s recommendation would enable Governor K.Rosaiah, Chancellor of the University, to appoint the next Vice-Chancellor.

The members of the search committee are: A.K.K. Unni, Chairman, Research Coordination Division, Amrita Institute of Medical Sciences and Research Centre, Kochi; Anil Kumar Srivastava, Director and Vice-Chancellor, National Dairy Research Institute, Karnal; and Col.Ajay Kumar Gahlot, Vice-Chancellor, Rajasthan University of Veterinary and Animal Sciences, Bikaner. Prof.Unni has been nominated by the Chancellor and will be Convenor of the Committee. Dr.Srivastava is nominated to the Committee by TANUVAS board of management while Col.Gahlot is being nominated by the Academic Council of TANUVAS.