Special Correspondent

To be constructed at a cost of Rs. 11.50 crores

TIRUVARUR: Roads and transport play an important road in the economic development of the country, said S. S. Palani Manickam, Union Minister of State for Finance at Koradachery near here on Wednesday.

He laid the foundation stone for three bridges to be constructed at a cost of Rs. 11.50 crores. The bridges are Muthupettai – Vaimedu bridge across river the Koraiyar, Koradachery Vettar bridge and Sannanallur - Mudikondan bridge.

Mr. Palani Manickam said while the Central Government was making all the national highways into four lane roads, the State government was keen on making all the state highways into two-lane roads.

This is only to avoid accidents. He called for creating awareness among people in using these world standards roads. He said that whenever the DMK came to power roads and bridges were improved.

Composite Thanjavur district, which is Cauvery delta, has lot of bridges. Tiruvarur bridge across the river the Coleroon linking Thanjavur and Ariyalur districts was built by the DMK government.

Kulithalai bridge across the river the Cauvery was also built during the DMK regime.

Vellakoil M. P. Saminathan, Highways and Minor Ports Minister, said that Tamil Nadu has national highways for a distance of 4,254 km.

Of them 3,200 km is maintained by National Highways Authority of India. The rest is maintained by the State government with aid given by Central Government.

With the World Bank assistance, road work from Arcot to Nagapattinam and Nagapattinam to Tuticorin is going on. A bypass road will be laid around Tiruvarur when the national highways from Nagapattinam to Gudalur is completed.

For this bypass road, land acquisition alone will cost Rs. 10 crores.

He said that the Needamangalam – Koradachery will also come into existence once the NH is completed. He sought the help of Mr. Palani Manickam to help in this matter.

U. Mathivanan, Dairy Development Minister, K. Santhanam, Secretary, Highways and Minor Ports, M. Chandrasekaran, Tiruvarur Collector, A. K. S. Vijayan, MP, Padmavathy, Ulaganathan, Durai Chandrasekaran and Mahesh Krishnasamy, all MLAs, participated.