Special Correspondent

PERAMBALUR: Two hundred and forty-four polling stations in Perambalur district have been identified as sensitive.

The redrawn Perambalur Lok Sabha constituency which has been de-reserved following the delimitation exercise will comprise the Perambalur Assembly segment, Kulithalai segment in Karur district and Lalgudi, Manachanallur, Musiri and Thuraiyur Assembly segments in Tiruchi district. The Kunnam Assembly segment in Perambalur district have been attached to the Chidambaram Lok Sabha constituency.

The total electorate in the constituency is 10,43,715 including 5,26,822 women and 5,16,893 men. The Perambalur Assembly segment will have the maximum voter strength of 2,09,116, followed by Musiri with 1,73,297, Manachanallur with 1,71,873, Thuraiyur with 1,67,302, Kulithalai with 1,63,322 and Lalgudi with 1,58,805 voters. A total of 1,297 polling stations will be set up in the Lok Sabha constituency. Collector R. Sudalai Kannan convened an all-party meeting on Monday to brief the parties about the model code of conduct. Representatives of various political parties and officials attended the meeting.