The DMK MP incurs instantaneous disqualification

A special CBI court on Thursday convicted the former AIADMK Minister and sitting DMK Rajya Sabha MP, T.M. Selvaganapathy, two retired IAS officers and two others in the cremation shed scam case probed by the CBI. The court sentenced Mr. Selvaganapathy, the then Minister for Rural Development and Local Administration; J.T. Acharyulu, former Secretary, Rural Development; M. Sathyamurthy, former Director, Rural Development; M. Krishnamurthy, retired project officer; and T. Bharathi to two-year rigorous imprisonment and imposed a penalty of Rs. 25,000 on each of them.

Following the conviction, Mr. Selvaganapathy incurs instantaneous disqualification under the amended Representation of the People Act.

Pronouncing judgment, S. Malathy, IX Additional Special Judge for CBI cases, said: “The accused are expected to serve society by discharging their duties without fear and favour as they have taken such an oath while assuming office, and they have failed miserably to adhere to it by their criminal misconduct…”

Rejecting their plea for leniency, the judge observed: “The accused do not deserve [any] leniency in the sentence.”

The case was registered by the CBI’s Anti-Corruption Branch on May 2, 1997.