Setting the process of selection for the chairperson of the Tamil Nadu Electricity Regulatory Commission (TNERC), the State government has reconstituted the selection committee.


Headed by former judge of the Madras High Court Justice R. Regupathi, the committee includes Chief Secretary Sheela Balakrishnan and the Chairperson of the Central Electricity Authority Neeraja Mathur.

The reconstitution follows an order of the Madras High Court early last month to finalise the selection of the person within three months.

The panel is required to recommend a panel of two names, according to an order notified in the State government gazette.

Changes effected

The reconstitution has been done as two changes have been effected in the composition.

Originally, the panel had Justice K. Sampath, former High Court Judge, and chairperson of the Central Electricity Regulatory Commission.

The post of chairperson of the TNERC is lying vacant since January 2012.

For about six months last year, the Commission became one-member body and in January, one more member was appointed.