The Congress has fielded sitting MP N.S.V. Chitthan to try his luck again in Dindigul.

A native of in Tirumangalam, he joined the Congress and became Thirumangalam youth wing organiser in 1964 and elected to the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly thrice between 1967 and 1989. He was with G.K. Moopanar when he floated the Tamizh Maanila Congress in 2002.


Sitting MP J.M. Haroon Rashid is contesting again in Theni constituency, a bastion of the AIADMK. Born in Chennai in 1950, he entered politics in 1990s. He won Periyakulam LS seat in 2004 defeating the AIADMK candidate and sitting MP T.T.V. Dinakaran.

In 2009, the Congress had fielded him in Theni constituency and he won the seat by defeating the AIADMK rival Thanga Tamilselvan.


The Congress has fielded A.P.C.V. Shanmugam (61) in the Tuticorin constituency.

He holds a Bachelor’s degree in English. He hails from Hindu Vellalar community. He joined the Congress (I) in 1969. In 1980, he contested from Srivaikuntam Assembly constituency. He contested from Tuticorin Assembly seat in 1989 but lost to the DMK.


Karti P.Chidambaram, 42, son of Union Finance Minister P Chidambaram, is making his debut in the electoral arena in his father's turf. He is a member of the All India Congress Committee and Tamil Nadu Congress executive committee. He had his bachelor’s degree in Business Administration in University of Texas, Austin, Texas USA and followed it up with a law degree from Cambridge University. ‘


Su Thirunnavukkarasar, 64, is an ardent supporter of M G Ramachandran and won from the Aranthangi assembly constituency to become the Deputy Speaker of the Assembly in MGR’s first term in 1977 and later served as a minister in the MGR cabinet.

After the death of his mentor, he threw his lot with Janaki Ramachandran before launching his own party. Later, he disbanded the party to join the AIADMK led by Ms Jayalalithaa before joining the BJP and the Congress.


S.S. Ramasubbu, 62, the sitting Congress MP, who hails from Nadar community, has been fielded in the same Tirunelveli constituency.

He won from the constituency in 2009. He is a native of Alangulam in Tirunelveli district.

He holds masters degree in economics. He was elected from Alangulam Assembly constituency in 1989 and 1991.


T.N. Bharath Natchiyappan is the Congress candidate for Madurai. A lawyer, he had served as president of the Student Congress and as the district youth Congress president. Hailing from the Sivaganga district, he is a resident of Iyer Bungalow in the city.


Congress’ search proves futile March 30, 2014