H. Raja (56), the BJP nominee, is entering the fray for the second time in Sivaganga constituency.

He had unsuccessfully contested in the 1999 elections.

A practicing chartered accountant, Raja is a law graduate and had represented Karaikudi in the Tamil Nadu Assembly from 2001 to 2006.

A native of Karaikudi, he was a Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) activist before he joined the BJP in 1989.


D. Kuppuramu (57), an advocate, is making his debut in the Lok Sabha elections. A native of Sathankulam, he had served as the President of the Pattinamkathan, a Grade I panchayat in the district for 15 years since 1986.

An active member of the BJP since 1992, he had served as the south Tamil Nadu state President of the Vishwa Hindu Parishad (VHP).


The BJP has fielded Pon. Radhakrishnan (62) as its candidate for the Kanyakumari constituency. Hailing from Alathankarai in Rajakkamangalam, he was elected as the MP in the 13th Lok Sabha in 1999.

He is the state president of the BJP since December 2009. From 2003 to 2006, he was the state general secretary and from 2006 to 2009 he was the state vice-president of the BJP.

He is a bachelor and did his schooling at DVD higher secondary school in Nagercoil, BA at V.H.S.S.N college at Virudunagar and BL in Chennai Law College.