R. Rajaram

Centrex facility allows free calls between police stations in the city

TIRUCHI: The city police is looking for a substantial savings on its telephone bills by opting for the cost-effective ‘Centrex,’ a value-added service offered by the Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited.

Calls made between police stations within the city through BSNL landlines will no longer be charged, but for the monthly fixed charges and a nominal fee for the value-added service.

The contemporary facility was provided after the police authorities wrote to the BSNL seeking the ‘Centrex’ system, a central office based communication service which integrates all multi-located telephone lines into a single communication group with distinctive features without any additional investment or equipment.

Fifty eight BSNL lines of the police including the Police Commissioner’s office, his residence, the offices of the Deputy Commissioners of Police (Law and Order and Traffic and Crime), Assistant Commissioner of Police (Intelligence Section), all offices of the Assistant Commissioners of Police, Police Control Room, city police stations and the police outpost at the Government Headquarters Hospital in the city have all come under the Centrex facility now.

Each police office and station has been given a separate four-digit code under the new system and calls made within the ‘Centrex group’ are free.

Charges would be levied only for calls made outside the group as per the respective plan, the BSNL authorities here told The Hindu here.

Put it simply, it is like a closed-user group in landline system.

The distinctive dial tone and ringing in the basic telephone, reliability, no capital investment in the existing setup besides flexibility are some of the advantages, say Telecom officials here.

A sum of Rs. 50 per line will be charged if the Centrex facility is given for two lines; Rs. 75 each for three lines and Rs. 100 each for four or more lines.

BSNL authorities say that Centrex facility had been availed by 300 Groups with 1,095 individual numbers till June in Tiruchi Secondary Switching Area, comprising Tiruchi, Pudukottai, Perambalur, Ariyalur and Karur.