The Gandhi Adigal police medal for curbing illicit liquor will be awarded to four officials. The officials are: T.P. Sureshkumar, Additional Superintendent of Police, Crime (i/c), Prohibition Enforcement Wing, Erode district; A.V. Mathi, Deputy Superintendent of Police, Central Investigation Unit (South), Chennai; S. Periyasamy, Inspector of Police, Central Investigation Unit, Salem Zone, Salem; and R. Devaraj, Head Constable, Appakoodal Police Station, Erode district.

A press release from Home Secretary Niranjan Mardi on Tuesday said the medals would be presented by the Chief Minister on Republic Day next year. A cash award of Rs.20,000 each would also be presented to each of the awardees with the medal. — Special Correspondent